Sergio Abreu & Eduardo Abreu – Os Violoes de Sergio e Eduardo Abreu (1971)

23 05 2013

Link original: Sergio Abreu & Eduardo Abreu – Os Violoes de Sergio e Eduardo Abreu (1971)
Publicado em: Tuesday, September 16, 2008 by zecalouro


Hello, good evening! I’m asking myself why I did not make this post earlier. Several friends were asking for this album and I could understand why a couple of weeks ago when I took it for a spin. This duo is really magical, sublime and absolutely outstanding. The brothers Sergio and Eduardo Abreu were active during the 60’s and the early 70’s and they are considered by many the most amazing classical guitar ensemble ever. Just Google and you will understand. Decades were passed and they still have international acknowledgment. My apologies to everybody who asked for a Duo Abreu career album. Let’s see.

This is Sergio Abreu & Eduardo Abreu – Os Violoes de Sergio e Eduardo Abreu (1971), for Columbia. I never heard about a CD reissue of this album or any other Duo Abreu record. In the other hand, the Internet has plenty information about their music and I would like to recommend one of the best resources I found about Duo Abreu and Brazilian violão as well, which is the website owned and maintained by Fabio Zanon, a Brazilian musician that lead an anthological series of 26 radio programs called “A Arte do Violao”, mandatory for musicians and everybody who appreciates this wonderful instrument. I think the brothers Sergio and Eduardo Abreu are auto explanatory, I could stay here writing pages of text about their music, but is better let you with Duo Abreu. Have a good night and a solid start of another week. Tracks include:

01 – Anon | Drewries Accordes
02 – Anon | O Rouxinol
03 – Telemann | Canon (Transcr. Sergio Abreu)
04 – D. Scarlatti | K. 9 (L. 413) Pastorale (Transcr. Pujol)
05 – J.S. Bach | Prelude 3 (Vol. 1 from The Well Tempered Clavier – transcription Sergio Abreu)
06 – Scheidler | Sonata in D – I Allegro (Edited by Karl Scheitt)
07 – Scheidler | Sonata em D – II Romanze (Edited by Karl Scheitt)
08 – Sheidler | Sonata em D – III Rondo/Allegro (Edited by Karl Scheitt)
09 – F. Sor | Theme and Variations
10 – Granados | Intermezzo (from Goyescas – transcription Pujol)
11 – Rodrigo | Tonadilla – I Allegro ma non troppo/ II Minueto Pomposo
12 – Rodrigo | Tonadilla – III Allegro Vivace
13 – Albeniz | Evocacion (from Suite Iberia – Transcription Sergio Abreu)
14 – Falla | Danza Espa ola (from La Vida Breve – Transcription Pujol)


Como não está disponível em nenhum local, estamos disponibilizando provisoriamente na forma de um magnet link. OBS: não se esqueça de deixar semeando  depois que você terminar de baixar (uma boa razão seria pelo menos 2 vezes o tamanho dos arquivos que você baixar!)



2 responses

23 05 2013

Comentários originais:
Leo Rugero on Tuesday, 16 September, 2008
album mágico, será possível que eles tenham tocado isto?Os Irmãos Abreu não existem, são impossíveis!
Anonymous on Tuesday, 16 September, 2008
It is impossible to overestimate the impact the duo of Sérgio and Eduardo Abreu had in the Brazilian classical guitar scene. Their technical brilliance, detailed musical presentation and disciplined preparation are legendary and virtually impossible to match.

Although there are no official releases in digital format, Sérgio Abreu himself remastered the original LPs along with the recordings of their BBC sessions. These CDs were distributed as gifts which, in true Internet age fashion, made their way into the net. They are listed in this topic of a Spanish guitar forum:

Here are the links:

Vídeo – Sérgio and Eduardo Abreu: Scarlatti L422/K141

Sérgio and Eduardo Abreu: Decca68

Sérgio and Eduardo Abreu: CBS69

Sérgio and Eduardo Abreu: The 1970’s BBC Recordings

Sérgio and Eduardo Abreu: BBC75

Sérgio Abreu: Paganini, Sor

Sérgio and Eduardo Abreu with Enrique Garcia Asencio: Two Concertos for Two Guitars (Tedesco, Santorsola)

There is more! Sergio Abreu opened again his vault of never released recordings for Fabio Zanon. He used them in some shows of his new radio program “Violão”:
jorge mello on Wednesday, 17 September, 2008
Realmente é um disco fantástico! Este é o duo de violões que mais me impressionou.
Anonymous on Monday, 29 September, 2008
Is this the same vinyl rip by Sérgio himself, or is this a new transfer?
zecalouro on Monday, 29 September, 2008

This is my transfer, which includes the lossless FLAC, standard.

Regards, zeca
Anonymous on Saturday, 07 November, 2009
Thanks for posting. It is ALWAYS a great pleasure to listen to their playing. If the server is busy, try this link

For the concertos, try this one:

28 05 2019

Deixe um comentário

Preencha os seus dados abaixo ou clique em um ícone para log in:

Logotipo do

Você está comentando utilizando sua conta Sair /  Alterar )

Foto do Google

Você está comentando utilizando sua conta Google. Sair /  Alterar )

Imagem do Twitter

Você está comentando utilizando sua conta Twitter. Sair /  Alterar )

Foto do Facebook

Você está comentando utilizando sua conta Facebook. Sair /  Alterar )

Conectando a %s

%d blogueiros gostam disto: