Stan Getz – The Best of Two Worlds, featuring Joao Gilberto (1976)

21 07 2013

Link original: Stan Getz – The Best of Two Worlds, featuring Joao Gilberto (1976)
Publicado em: Tuesday, January 27, 2009 by zecalouro

João Gilberto, Stan Getz & Miúcha - The Best of Two Worlds

Hello, good evening! I’m trying to make this post since Saturday night. And I’m really sorry about this; I had to skip a really important celebration yesterday, which was Antonio Carlos Jobim, 82 years birthday. Additionally, I missed some announcements of friends that were celebrating Antonio Carlos Jobim yesterday, such as the great work made by Jassvan in New York, running a Marathon with Jobim’s music and special guests on WKCR-89.9FM, also at I’m really sad to miss this announcement and also missing the broadcast tribute itself. Jassvan always speaks about Loronix on his radio show and I urge Loronix’s community to reach the radio website and listen to Jassvan show, broadcasted every Sunday at midnight.

The show must go on, and I would like to upgrade this really nice and inexplicable underrated album, a Bossa Nova classic recorded in 1976 by Stan Getz, featuring João Gilberto and with the participation of Miucha. Let’s see.

This is Stan Getz – The Best of Two Worlds, featuring Joao Gilberto (1976), for Columbia. There is something very unique about this album, which is the participation of Antonio Carlos Jobim. He wrote English lyrics to his compositions especially for this occasion. This cover is also a must and probably assembled by Columbia, since Joao Gilberto appears with the same photo with different situation in the front and back cover. This upgrade includes a new vinyl transfer with FLAC files, new cover scans and also personnel listing, with some nice surprises. Tracks include:


Joao Gilberto
(voice, violao, percussion)
Stan Getz
(tenor sax)

Airto Moreira
Billy Hart, Grady Tate, Ray Armando, Rubens Bassini
Clint Houston, Steve Swallow
Albert Dailey
Oscar Castro Neves
(violao, arrangements)

Track List

01 – Double Rainbow (Tom Jobim / G. Lees)
02 – Águas de Março (Tom Jobim)
03 – Ligia (Tom Jobim)
04 – Falsa Baiana (Geraldo Pereira)
05 – Retrato Em Branco e Preto (Picture In Black And White) (Tom Jobim / Chico Buarque)
06 – Izaura (You Know I Just Shouldn’t Stay) (Herivelto Martins / Roberto Roberti / Vrs. Monica Christina)
07 – Eu Vim da Bahia (Gilberto Gil)
08 – João Marcello (João Gilberto)
09 – É Preciso Perdoar (Carlos Coquejo / Alcyvando Luz)
10 – Just One Of Those Things (Cole Porter)


Este disco pode ser buscado no Um que Tenha.



One response

21 07 2013

Comentários originais:
Thomas on Tuesday, 13 February, 2007
This LP is in my bossa nova canon. One of my all-time favorites. I always leave this recording with a feeling of joy. Thanks for posting this classic.
PS I wonder how wonderful this session would have sounded with Astrud’s vocals. Why didn’t she participate with this recording?
cisalpino on Tuesday, 13 February, 2007
I dont´t remember where I read, that on this session João and Getz never get together. They recorded each parte separeted. The cover is a photography trick. If you see the back cover you can see João at the exactly same position of the cover. Miúcha was João´s wife at the moment, probably was not a good idea put wife and ex-wife together on the sessions. I have to disagree with Thomas, I don´t miss Astrud on the album, for me, Miucha made a great job. Unmissable: Just one of those things.
Roberrrrrrrrrrrto on Tuesday, 13 February, 2007
But… Great music needs better bitrate
So why 160kbps rip?
Why not 320 or 256kbps?
Mr. G on Tuesday, 13 February, 2007
MAN, my dad used to play this album EVERY DAY when I was growing up!!! A true classic, I don’t know why people don’t talk about it more…..
Lazar on Friday, 16 February, 2007

Thanks a lot Loronix🙂

you’re the best in Bossa nova
martymartymarty on Sunday, 18 February, 2007
Fantastic post! I have been wanting to hear this for a long time.

Bitrate is fine, by the way. =)
sr. dromedário on Thursday, 09 August, 2007
olá, zecalouro. como faço para baixar esse disco do joão gilberto? não estou conseguindo como faço com os outros discos.

zecalouro on Thursday, 09 August, 2007
Sr. Dromedálio,

Por favor, escreva-me em para que eu possa te enviar o processo em detalhes.

Abraços, zeca
Brigitte on Friday, 28 March, 2008
@Thomas: Astrud and João divorced 1964 and 1965 João married Miúcha. Now you know why.
odeon14360 on Tuesday, 27 January, 2009
Obra Maestra de la Bossa Nova Gracias ~ Obrigado
Flabbergast on Tuesday, 27 January, 2009
Hey, no worries on being “late”!! This is a record I was unaware of. That cover is a pretty good paste-up job for being from before the days of Photoshop!! Is that radio program you mentioned archived anywhere?

Also, I hate to sound desperate but I really want some information on this record from Alaide Costa. I can’t find anything out about it but I suspect that it has most or all of the Clube da Esquina musicians playing on it. If anyone can help me with some details on it I will be forever thankful. I have posted it here:
Joep on Tuesday, 27 January, 2009
This is a great upload. Many thanks.
Anonymous on Tuesday, 27 January, 2009
Thank you so much for this. My vinyl copy (purchased in 1977) is so badly worn that I can no longer hear the beauty. I am an old man, and to have it back in my home again is a treasure.
Anri on Tuesday, 27 January, 2009
Hey guys. I am one of the programmers on the Som do Brasil show in New York. First of all, I’d like to send out a big thanks to Zecalouro for giving a shout out to our show. We always return the favor on air by announcing the great contributions of Loronix to the blog community. And a personal thanks from me. This is THE most comprehensive brazilian music blog out there, and I thank you for your enormous dedication.

Just a sidenote, our show airs on Wednesdays, from 11 PM – 1 AM NY time, not on Sundays. You can access it all over the world through the radio station’s website, Once on the website, you need to click on “Live Broadcast,” download the MP3 stream and run it with any media player (iTunes, WMP, etc.). So, tune in!
Jamil on Friday, 30 January, 2009
Grande album Zeca, valeu por compartilhar


The Boy Meets Bossa Nova on Friday, 17 April, 2009
Obrigado Zeca!…
Por Favor mais João, sempre!

Deixe uma resposta

Preencha os seus dados abaixo ou clique em um ícone para log in:

Logotipo do

Você está comentando utilizando sua conta Sair / Alterar )

Imagem do Twitter

Você está comentando utilizando sua conta Twitter. Sair / Alterar )

Foto do Facebook

Você está comentando utilizando sua conta Facebook. Sair / Alterar )

Foto do Google+

Você está comentando utilizando sua conta Google+. Sair / Alterar )

Conectando a %s

