Al Quincas – Cocktail para Dois (1956)

7 04 2013

Link original: Al Quincas – Cocktail para Dois (1956)
Publicado em: Saturday, May 10, 2008 by zecalouro


It will be difficult to explain this post, featuring the only LP released by the tenor saxophonist Al Quincas. This is an album that was here for quite a time, but I never had a reason for sharing with the community since I did not have any information about Al Quincas. I’m happy the situation has changed a lot when I spoke with Jorge Mello a couple of weeks ago. Jorge Mello investigations on Garoto personal diary, interviews with Fafa Lemos and research on Musidisc legacy revealed that Trio Surdina had recorded the first four albums with the original formation (Garoto, Fafa Lemos and Chiquinho do Acordeon) and the reaming Trio Surdina albums with Al Quincas (as violin player), Nestor Campos (guitar) and El Gaucho (accordion).

This is Al Quincas – Cocktail para Dois (1956), for Musidisc, featuring Al Quincas tenor sax with a not credited orchestral accompaniment. Perhaps Jorge Mello has additional information about Al Quincas, a tenor sax player that changed to violin when recorded for Trio Surdina, a very interest story and musician. Tracks ineclude:

01 – Cocktails For Two (A. Johnston / S. Ocalow)
02 – Donne Moi (Charles Aznavour / Gilbert Bécaud)
03 – Lisboa Antiga (Galhardo / Vale / Raul Portela)
04 – Stranger In Paradise (R. Wright / G. Forrest)
05 – Moritat (Kurt Weill / Bertold Brecht)
06 – Pobres de Paris (La Goualante Du Pauve Jean) (Marguerite Monnot)
07 – C’est a Hambourg (Marguerite Monnot)
08 – Memory Are Made Of This (T. Gilkson / R. Dehrs / F. Miller)


Este disco pode ser buscado no Parallel Realities.