Bud Shank / Clare Fischer / Joe Pass – Brasamba (1963)

18 05 2012

Link original: Bud Shank / Clare Fischer / Joe Pass – Brasamba (1963)
Publicado em: Saturday, July 07, 2007 by zecalouro

We should thanks Caetano Rodrigues for this album, part of his last set of contributions to Loronix. Released in 1963, this is one of those albums recorded by American Jazz musicians in response of the arriving of Bossa Nova in the United States. Bossamba was on my hunting list since I saw it for the first time in Caetano Rodrigues book, now is time to hear it, altogether with my friends at Loronix.

This is Bud Shank, Clare Fischer and Joe Pass – Brasamba (1963), for Pacific Jazz. In spite of its importance, Brasamba worth by putting together these three legends. Bud Shank, a well-known artist by his great collaboration to the music from Brazil and Brazilian musicians, pretty recently, he recorded another album together with Joao Donato. Clare Fischer is a gifted pianist that was introduced for the first time with a fantastic Bossa Nova record by Caetano, the first international Bossa Nova album made available at Loronix. Joe Pass is a name that does not need any kind of introduction, one of the great Jazz guitar players. They are accompanied by bass, vibes and percussion, as detailed on personnel listing, just before tracks. Tracks include:

PersonnelBud Shank
(sax alto, flute)
Clare Fischer
Joe Pass
Larry Bunker
(vibes and drums)
Ralph Pena
Milt Holland, Chuck Flores

Track List

01 – Brasamba (Bud Shank)
02 – Ontem a Noite (Clare Fischer)
03 – Autumn Leaves (Mercer / Prevert / Kazma)
04 – Sambinha (Bud Shank)
05 – Gostoso (Clare Fischer)
06 – If I Should Lose You (Robin / Rainger)
07 – O Barquinho (Menescal / Boscoli)
08 – Serenidade (Clare Fischer)
09 – Elizeth (Clare Fischer)
10 – Samba de Orfeu (Antonio Carlos Jobim / Luiz Bonfa)


Este disco pode ser buscado no Um que Tenha.

Bud Shank – Brazil! Brazil! Brazil! (1966)

17 03 2012

Link original: Bud Shank – Brazil! Brazil! Brazil! (1966)
Publicado em: Wednesday, May 02, 2007 by zecalouro

Hello, Good Evening and Good night! I’m back from Sao Paulo vinyl fair. I arrived four hours ago, but I was so tired that I slept by accident when reading a magazine. Then I decided to come here and say hello, thanks everybody who was there and just let you know that tomorrow night I will be covering the fair, telling everybody what happened.

Meanwhile, I decided to post something solid from the start to end to please Loronixers tomorrow or early today or late this night or… well, I’m not sure, depends on your time zone.

This is Bud Shank – Brazil! Brazil! Brazil! (1966), for World Pacific, featuring Bud Shank, Laurindo Almeida, Chet Baker, Joe Pass, Clare Fischer and Joao Donato. Wow! I don’t think that you will never go wrong with an album titled Brazil! Brazil! Brazil! featuring this awesome musicians. Tracks include:

PersonnelBUD SHANK

Track List

01 – Summer Samba
02 – Elizeth
03 – Noturno
04 – Ontem a Noite
05 – Carnaval
06 – Sausalito
07 – If I Should Loose You
08 – Carioca Hills
09 – Samba do Aviao
10 – What Time it Was
11 – Quiet Nights
12 – The Color of Your Hair


Este disco pode ser buscado no Um que Tenha. Como não está disponível em nenhum local, estamos disponibilizando provisoriamente na forma de um magnet link. OBS: não se esqueça de deixar semeando  depois que você terminar de baixar (uma boa razão seria pelo menos 2 vezes o que você baixar!)


Joe Pass and Paulinho da Costa – Tudo Bem! (1978)

10 02 2012

Link original: Joe Pass and Paulinho da Costa – Tudo Bem! (1978)
Publicado em: Sunday, March 18, 2007 by zecalouro

There is a story behind this post. First, it is a really awaited post, especially for the friends who visits and share ideas with CBox. Second, I need to give credits for two contributors, Caetano Rodrigues, which is the friend who sent this perfect copy to Loronixers, second, Cesar Saldanha, who sent first, but I did not make it since this record was on Caetano list of future contributions. Thanks Cesar. Thanks Caetano.

This is Joe Pass & Paulinho da Costa- Tudo Bem! (1978), for Original Jazz Classics, the Bossa Nova / Brazilian music tribute of the legendary guitarist Joe Pass, featuring renowned Brazilian musicians, such as Oscar Castro Neves, Paulinho da Costa and others. Tudo Bem! is a infectious record, with sweet solos, very different from earlier Joe Pass albums. We have been speaking a lot about this record and now it is time to hear and share our thoughts about it. Tracks include:

PersonnelJoe Pass
Oscar Castro Neves
Octavio Bailly
Claudio Slon
Paulinho da Costa
Don Grusin

Track List

01 – Corcovado
02 – Tears
03 – Wave
04 – Voce
05 – If You Went Away
06 – Que Que Ha?
07 – The Gentle Rain
08 – Barquinho
09 – Luciana
10 – I Live to Love


Este disco pode ser buscado no Um que Tenha.