Maria Augusta – Classics in Bossa

11 02 2012

Link na Internet Wayback Machine: Maria Augusta – Classics in Bossa
Publicado em: MONDAY, MARCH 19, 2007

Hello, Good Night! Mondays are different at Loronix, at least from my perspective. It is the day with more traffic. Perhaps, Loronixers who do not have computers at home take this day to see what was around during weekend. I like to manage these traffic ranking statistics, one of the several performance indicators of a website.

I have been running websites for years and Loronix has something unique. Most of the visitors are returning visitors, which means that we built a real community. Loronix 1st Anniversary is coming and I would like to start some actions to make our community bigger, the benefits are many. I’m asking you to spread Loronix message around other musical communities that you participate or coordinate. I will post a structured post about this thing in the forthcoming days. Caetano has also a special promotion for Loronixer to be announced very soon.

Thanks in advance for this, let’s get back to business, the music. This is the post supposed to be the closing post of yesterday. Since several friends were curious about it, I will make it as the opening this Monday, let’s see.

This is Maria Augusta – Classics in Bossa (no date), for Albatroz featuring an American Standards repertoire from the 50’s performed in English language by the Brazilian singer Maria Augusta. Roberto Menescal is the one who “discover” Maria Augusta, which is the daughter of another Brazilian Musician. Roberto Menescal is also the arranger. Caetano sent this album with a great enthusiasm, Maria Augusta sings very nice and Roberto Menescal made a nice work on adapting this repertoire to Bossa Nova. Tracks include:


Maria Augusta
Roberto Menescal
(violao, guitarra)
Gilson Peranzetta
Adriano Giffoni
Raymundo Bittencourt

Track List

01 – All Of Me (S. Simons / G. Marks)
02 – You’ve Changed (Carey / Fisher)
03 – Embraceable You (George Gershwin / Ira Gershwin)
04 – Tangerine (J. Mercer / V. Schertzinger)
05 – The Shadow Of Your Smile (Paul Francis Webster / Mandel)
06 – Call Me Irresponsible (J. V. Heusen / S. Cahn)
07 – Baubles, Bangles And Beads (Wright / A. Barodin / G. Forrest)
08 – All The Things You Are (O. Hammerstein II / J. Kern)
09 – Lullaby Of Birdland (G. Shearing / B. Y. Forster)
10 – Smoke Gest In Your Eyes (J. Kern / O. Harbach)
11 – Satin Doll (Duke Ellington)
12 – Body And Soul (R. B. Sour / E. Heyman / J. W. Green / F. Eyton)
13 – Speak Low (O. Nash / Kurt Weill)
14 – Cheek To Cheek (Irving Berlin)

Este disco pode ser buscado na Rádio Forma e Elenco do Martoni.
Existem outras versões da capa: