Norma Bengell – Norma Canta Mulheres (1977)

27 02 2013

Link original: Norma Bengell – Norma Canta Mulheres (1977)
Publicado em: Saturday, March 08, 2008 by zecalouro

Norma Bengell - Norma, Canta Mulheres (1977)

iwd_4Hello, good evening! We have a good reason to postpone the start of our Samba Saturday at Loronix, the International Women’s Day is being celebrated today and this post is Loronix homage to all women in the world, being also celebrated by Leo Ribeiro and Martoni at their Forma e Elenco Radio Show. I would like also to thanks JOAO-SP and the friends of CBox for shouting about this date, I have to admit that I was not aware of this important date.

Anyway, a special date requires a special post and this one is really special featuring Norma Bengell and her second and last career LP released by Elenco. Let’s see.

This is Norma Bengell – Norma Canta Mulheres (1977), for Elenco, featuring Norma Bengell performing a repertoire with songs composed by girls, no room for men compositions here. This is a fantastic album that follows on that “cannot wait longer” category, it is incredibly hard to find and this copy is not my vinyl transfer. The back cover is missing from the download package and personnel listing is probably incomplete, I’m not sure about it. Sivuca plays a major role at Norma Canta Mulheres, delivering arrangements and playing. If someone has additional information to provide, I will be pleased to update this post with full personnel listing. Tracks include:


Rosinha de Valenca
(violao, arrangements)
Celia Vaz
(arrangements, ?)
Tiao Neto, Jamil Joanes
Jacques Morellenbaum
Ed Maciel
Pascoal Meirelles, Chico Batera

Track List

01 – Outra Você Não Me Faz (Dona Ivone Lara)
02 – Inteira (Luhli / Lucina)
03 – Em Nome do Amor (Norma Bengell / Glória Gadelha)
04 – Aprender a Nadar (Marlui Miranda)
05 – A Noite do Meu Bem (Dolores Duran)
06 – Abre Alas (Chiquinha Gonzaga)
07 – Coisas da Vida (Rosinha de Valença)
08 – Pra Que (Glória Gadelha)
09 – Movimento da Vida (Sueli Costa)
10 – O Futuro Me Absolve (Rita Lee)
11 – Boa Pergunta (Joyce)
12 – Resposta (Maysa)


Este disco pode ser buscado no Um que Tenha.

Copacabana Palace – Band Originale du Film (1962)

15 03 2012

Link original: Copacabana Palace – Band Originale du Film (1962)
Publicado em: Saturday, April 28, 2007 by zecalouro

Hello, Good Evening! Sometimes we need to be straightforward, this is the time. Mr. E., the mighty Mr. E. that sent to us Mary Goncalvez, Zeze Gonzaga among several other truly amazing contributions, sent this pearl. I would like to title this post as “All About Copacabana Palace Film”, Mr. E. made a real strike, sending Copacabana Palace OST and 2 excerpts of that movie with Brazilian artists performing Bossa Nova songs. Thanks a million Mr. E. I’m sure this post will please everybody.

This is Copacabana Palace – Band Originale du Film (1962), for Festival, featuring Joao Gilberto, Os Cariocas, Norma Bengell, Miguel and Orquestra Gianni Ferrio. Self-explanatory album, the OST of Copacabana Palace movie. Mr. E. also made available some additional jewels, three songs extracted by the original film soundtrack and four other relevant songs that Mr. E. has gently picked up from other albums.

The tireless Mr. E. also makes available two excerpts of that movie, Joao Gilberto, Luiz Bonfa and Antonio Carlos Jobim performing Cancao do Mar together at the beach. We know this video is available at Loronix already, however, Mr. E. version has a much better quality and it is complete. I did not know that the previous one had some parts missing.

To end this magnificent contribution, Mr. E. pleases us with a music video featuring Os Cariocas and Joao Gilberto performing So Danco Samba. Wow! Thanks Mr. E. everybody will always remember your effort. Tracks include:

Original Sound Track

01 – So Danco Samba (Antonio Carlos Jobim / Vinicius de Moraes) with JOAO GILBERTO AND OS CARIOCAS
02 – Tristeza (Luiz Bonfa / Maria Helena Toledo) with NORMA BENGELL
03 – Samba do Aviao (Antonio Carlos Jobim) with MIGUEL
04 – Musique originale du Carnaval de Rio 1962 with ORQUESTRA GIANNI FERRIO

Bonus Tracks – Extracted from the OST

05 – Samba do Aviao (Antonio Carlos Jobim) with JULA DE PALMA AND OS 4×4 DE NORA ORLANDI
06 – Samboleiro (Luiz Bonfa / Maria Helena Toledo) with LUIZ BONFA
07 – Cancao do Mar (Luiz Bonfa / Maria Helena Toledo) with LUIZ BONFA, JOAO GILBERTO and ANTONIO CARLOS JOBIM

Bonus Tracks – Extracted from other albums – Mr. E. Specials

08 – Cancao do Mar (Luiz Bonfa / Maria Helena Toledo) with LUIZ BONFA
09 – Samboleiro (Luiz Bonfa / Maria Helena Toledo) with LUIZ BONFA
10 – Tristeza (Luiz Bonfa / Maria Helena Toledo) with LUIZ BONFA
11 – So Danco Samba (Antonio Carlos Jobim / Vinicius de Moraes) with OS CARIOCAS
12 – Samba do Aviao (Antonio Carlos Jobim) with OS CARIOCAS


Music Video

So Danco Samba
Joao Gilberto and Os Cariocas


Music Video
Cancao do Mar
Joao Gilberto, Luiz Bonfa and Antonio Carlos Jobim
O vídeo de Canção do Mar não estava completo, mas graças ao amigo bOssas nOvas agora ele está.
Quanto à seleção feita pelo Mr. E., ela pode ser buscada na Rádio Forma e Elenco do Martoni. O filme completo está disponibilizado nos comentários desta postagem (baixem logo, pois não ficará disponível por muito tempo). O filme é falado em italiano, sem legendas …

Norma Bengell – Ooooooh! Norma (1959)

24 11 2011

Link original: Norma Bengell – Ooooooh! Norma (1959)
Publicado em: Thursday, December 28, 2006 by zecalouro

I remember on that old vinyl fair in SP that Caetano Rodrigues found this LP on a perfect shape and with a very reasonable price, a fraction of the price we are used to see on e-Bay. I left Sao Paulo thinking about sharing this LP with Loronixers and I don’t know why simply forgot to make it.

Anyway, it is not that late for Norma Bengell – OoooooH! Norma (1959), for Odeon. Mr. D&C is a big fan of Norma Bengell and this LP particularly. Unfortunately, after this wonderful debut LP, Norma Bengell decided to embrace another career as an actress and film director with great success. Only few Brazilians know that Norma was a singer before deciding to be an actress. I hope you enjoy this LP that is nice from star to end with arrangements by Maestro Lindolfo Gaya and an amazing cover that made a lot of noise in 1959, a scandal at that time. Tracks include:

01 – Sucedeu Assim (Tom Jobim / Marino Pinto)
02 – This Can’t Be Love (R. Rodgers / L. Hart)
03 – Eu Sei Que Vou Te Amar (Tom Jobim / Vinicius de Moraes)
04 – On The Sunny Side Of The Street (D. Fields / J. McHugh)
05 – Eu Preciso de Você (Tom Jobim / Vinicius de Moraes)
06 – C’est Si Bon (H. Betti / A. Hornez)
07 – Sente (Chico Feitosa / Ronaldo Bôscoli)
08 – Fever (J. Devenport / E. Cooley)
09 – Hô-bá-lá-lá (João Gilberto)
10 – You Better Go Now (B. Reichner / R. Graham)
11 – That Old Black Magic (Arlen / Mercer)
12 – Drume Negrita (E. Grenet)


Este disco pode ser buscado no Um que Tenha.