O Grupo – O Grupo e Coisa e Tal… (1971)

12 06 2012

Link original: O Grupo – O Grupo e Coisa e Tal… (1971)
Publicado em: Wednesday, July 25, 2007 by zecalouro

This is a very curious Brazilian vocal group. Caetano Rodrigues introduced O Grupo to Loronixers through their first self-titled album released by Odeon in 1968. I thought that one was their first and only album released. Mr. G., the legendary contributor, added more info on O Grupo discography, providing to Loronixers their second album, recorded by Radio and released a couple of weeks ago. Mr. G., correct me if I’m wrong, but I think we close O Grupo discography with this relase. Anyway, let’s see how people feedback O Grupo, their albums are solid and I like them.

This is O Grupo – O Grupo e Coisa e Tal… (1971), for Copacabana. I do not remember earlier O Grupo formation along the years and this time they went to studio to deliver this album as an octet. Each O Grupo release is different from the other, with O Grupo e Coisa e Tal they make a dancing album with lyrics full of humor, making a bridge to the forthcoming Premeditando o Breque and Rumo from the 80’s. Tracks include:


Alberto Arantes
(instrumental arrangements)
(organ, piano, vocals)
(bass, vocals)
(drums, vocals)
(sax, flute, clarinet)
(guitar, vocals)
Jaime and Mauricio
(percussion, vocals)

Track List

01 – Socorro (Fred Falcão / Arnoldo Medeiros)
02 – Vera Verinha (Maurício Duboc / Carlos Colla)
03 – Yara Bela (Toninho Horta)
04 – Lá Vai Ela (Eduardo Souto Neto / Sergio Bittencourt)
05 – Canção Pra Inglês Ver (Lamartine Babo)
06 – Vogue (Renato Amorim)
07 – Não Te Conheço Não (Fred Falcão / Arnoldo Medeiros)
08 – Senhores do Mundo (Roberto Quartin)
09 – Matilda (Harry Thomaz)
10 – Bloco da Solidão (Jair Amorim / Evaldo Gouveia)
11 – O Problema Dela (José Luis Amalio / Reinaldo Pimenta)
12 – E Coisa e Tal (Eduardo Souto Neto / Sergio Bittencourt)

Esse disco pode ser buscado no CB Vocal Groups.


O Grupo – O Grupo (1969)

14 05 2012

Link original: O Grupo – O Grupo (1969)
Publicado em: Monday, July 02, 2007 by zecalouro

Thanks Mr. G. for this obscure and widely unknown O Grupo album. Mr. G., is a Loronix collaborator since the very first beginning and he gave this album to us just before Caetano Rodrigues made available O Grupo debut LP by Odeon. By that time, I thought O Grupo had released only that first album and disappeared, but the legendary Mr. G. knows everything about Brazilian music. Thanks Mr. G.

This is O Grupo – O Grupo (1969), for Radio, the tiny Brazilian label that had the first LP presented yesterday. Mr. G. says this is a masterpiece. I agree, very beautiful, with modern arrangements and nice vocals performed by Roberval, Raimundo, Mauricio and Jayme Alem. Tracks include:

01 – Eu Disse Adeus
02 – Mutante
03 – Sinhana
04 – Misty
05 – Beiras
06 – Quem Mandou
07 – Tres Horas da Manha
08 – Over The Rainbow
09 – Rosa De Fogo
10 – Alvorada


Não tinha esse disco. Porém, graças aos amigos Andreas, Tiobili e Martoni, ele agora pode ser buscado na Rádio Forma e Elenco.

O Grupo – O Grupo (1968)

24 01 2012

Link original: O Grupo – O Grupo (1968)
Publicado em: Tuesday, February 27, 2007 by zecalouro

Hello, Good Night! Promising night by the way, as the nights with Caetano’s music uses to be. The daily plan has already been established by a phone call with Caetano Rodrigues. Covers are photographed, music is ready, zecalouro is dreaming and I’m really excited to start the posts of the day. Nothing can be stopping me today, no refrigerator, no photo issues, nothing. Everything is running, as it should be today. Cross your fingers, we will have a great night. By the way, even with those troubles, every night sponsored by Caetano is great.

This is O Grupo – O Grupo (1968), for Odeon. Four boys making vocalizes with the support of top-notch arrangers. I spoke with Caetano to gather more information of this group; Caetano said that this record is probably the first and only album released by O Grupo. Perhaps Odeon considered O Grupo a great promise, putting the best team of arrangers to work with O Grupo. Five Maestros were on the set, each one collaborating individually on given tracks. They are represented on track list. O Grupo is a quartet, featuring Roberval, Raimundo, Jaime e Maurício. Tracks include:

01 – Alegria de Carnaval (Antônio Adolfo / Tibério Gaspar) (1)
02 – Januária (Chico Buarque) (1)
03 – Passa Por Mim (Marcos Valle / Paulo Sergio Valle) (2)
04 – Pelas Ruas de Recife (Marcos Valle / Paulo Sergio Valle) (1)
05 – Rosa Branca (Antônio Adolfo / Tibério Gaspar) (1)
06 – O Bonde (Roberval Pereira Filho / Hedys Barroso Neto) (4)
07 – Sá Marina (Antônio Adolfo / Tibério Gaspar) (1)
08 – Eu e a Brisa (Johnny Alf) (1)
09 – Morrer de Amor (Oscar Castro Neves / Luvercy Fiorini) (2)
10 – Travessia (Milton Nascimento / Fernando Brant) (3)
11 – Diane (Antônio Adolfo / Paulo Sergio Valle) (1)
12 – Maria Carnaval e Cinzas (Luis Carlos Paraná) (5)

(1) Maestro Antonio Adolfo
(2) Maestro Lyrio Panicalli
(3) Maestro Carlos Monteiro de Souza
(4) Maestro Hugo Marotta
(5) Maestro Nelsinho


Este disco pode ser buscado no CB Vocal Groups.