O Quarteto – Antologia da Bossa Nova | 20 Anos Depois (1977)

6 10 2013

Link original: O Quarteto – Antologia da Bossa Nova | 20 Anos Depois (1977)
Publicado em: Wednesday, July 15, 2009 by zecalouro


Do you like vocal groups? I do. It is nice to hear and understand arrangements made for voices and this group excels on this kind of thing. O Quarteto recorded only three albums, two are available here at Loronix, while the third, released in 1969, is totally unknown to my ears. This is a reposting with several improvements, including the FLAC files and high quality front and back cover scans. I will keep my original writing with a few and cosmetic adaptations.

Thanks once again for the successful funding raising campaign we made in just three days. Stay tuned for new features.

Hello, good evening! I feel great today. I think it was a snack that made me feel bad yesterday, nothing better than 12 hours of continuous sleeping to get yourself fixed. Since I feel good, let’s have a great start today with a record that I like a lot, taking advantage of the last records picturing Bossa Nova 10, 29, 30 years after. Let’s see what we have here.

This is O Quarteto – Antologia da Bossa Nova 20 Anos Depois (1977), for Philips. You probably remember the first O Quarteto LP released at Loronix, but if you don’t, O Quarteto is a vocal group that released only two self-titled albums in the late 60’s, in spite of the active participation they had on several Festivais da Cancao. Antologia da Bossa Nova 20 Anos Depois was released with an interval of 9 years between the second LP. I do not have available info of the reasons they do not made albums, since they are a great vocal group that is always backed up by renowned musicians, as you can check bellow at personnel listing. Tracks include:




Paulinho Palarico Correa

Walter Gozzo

Carlos Alberto de Lima Vianna

Hermes Antonio Dos Reis

Vocal Arrangements
Carlos Alberto de Lima Vianna & Walter Gozzo

Cesar Camargo Mariano

Cesar Camargo Mariano
(bass, piano, fender, syntorchestra, percussion)
Dudu Fortes
(drums, percussion)
Carlos Alberto de Lima Vianna

Track List

01 – Zelão (Sergio Ricardo) — O Nosso Olhar (Sergio Ricardo)
02 – A Morte de Um Deus de Sal (Roberto Menescal / Ronaldo Bôscoli) — O Barquinho (Roberto Menescal / Ronaldo Bôscoli)
03 – Céu e Mar (Johnny Alf)
04 – Vou Deitar e Rolar (Quaquaraquaqua) (Baden Powell / Paulo César Pinheiro) — Deixa (Baden Powell / Vinicius de Moraes)
05 – Corcovado (Tom Jobim) — Insensatez (Tom Jobim / Vinicius de Moraes) — Desafinado (Tom Jobim / Newton Mendonça)
06 – Preciso Aprender a Ser Só (Marcos Valle / Paulo Sergio Valle) — Samba de Verão (Marcos Valle / Paulo Sergio Valle)
07 – Primavera (Vinicius de Moraes / Carlos Lyra) — Maria do Maranhão (Carlos Lyra / Nelson Lins e Barros) — Marcha da Quarta-feira de Cinzas (Vinicius de Moraes / Carlos Lyra)
08 – Oba-lá-lá (João Gilberto)
09 – Moça Flor (Durval Ferreira / Luis Fernando Freire) — Tristeza de Nós Dois (Durval Ferreira / Maurício / Bebeto)
10 – Manhã de Carnaval (Luis Bonfá / Antônio Maria)


Este disco pode ser buscado no Martoni.

O Quarteto – O Quarteto (1968)

1 10 2011

Link original: O Quarteto – O Quarteto (1968)
Publicado em: Friday, November 10, 2006 by zecalouro

Yesterday, I was chatting with Cleber and Renato at Loronix Live Chat, which is the chatting application inside Loronix Forum and Cleber suggested an LP from the vocal group O Quarteto. Cleber said also that the four O Quarteto members are all engineers, something that I could not check.

The first time I saw a LP from O Quarteto was at NAmerica Loves SAmerica from Now, that has the last and late O Quarteto LP recorded in 1977. I’m introducing this vocal group with another release; this is O Quarteto – O Quarteto (1968), for Phillips, which is O Quarteto debut LP. I was not successful searching bios information from this band, but many people appreciates this group that apparently had a short life, recording two LPs in the late 60’s and the last release available at Now’s blog. They have also important participations at Brazilian music festivals from the 60’s. Let’s see how O Quarteto performs here at Loronix. Tracks include:

01 – Os Grilos (Marcos Valle / Paulo Sergio Valle)
02 – Live For Life (Vivre Pour Vivre) (F. Lai)
03 – O Velho (Chico Buarque)
04 – Bonita (Tom Jobim)
05 – Rua Antiga (Roberto Menescal / R. Richter)
06 – Who Needs Forever (Q. Jones / Greenfield)
07 – Waves (Tom Jobim)
08 – Maria Madrugada (Toninho Horta / Junia Horta)
09 – Canta (Roberto Menescal / Ronaldo Bôscoli)
10 – Here There And Everywhere (John Lennon / Paul McCartney)
11 – Isso Não Se Faz (Pixinguinha / Hermínio Bello de Carvalho)
12 – Tenderly (W. Gross / J. Lawrence)


Não tinha este disco. Graças à colaboração do Amilcar, ele foi disponibilizado, porém com uma faixa faltando, a de número 4 – Bonita. Agora o Martoni o publicou completo e o disco foi para a categoria corrigido.