Orquestra Afro-Brasileira – Orquestra Afro-Brasileira (1968)

23 10 2011

Link original: Orquestra Afro-Brasileira – Orquestra Afro-Brasileira (1968)
Publicado em: Monday, November 20, 2006 by zecalouro

This post is to present a unique and very hard to find LP taking advantage of November 20th, which is officially The Black Consciousness Day in Brazil. There is a great diversity in the way people celebrate this date. Some view it from a religious perspective some others – probably the majority – view it as Zumbi Day – our Afro-Brazilian hero that have helped at the construction of an alternative to racism and colonialism on Brazilian soil.

The overall idea of this post was decided today on a phone call between zecalouro and Ed Motta, which I want to say thanks for providing this unique piece, Orquestra Afro-Brasileira – Orquestra Afro-Brasileira (1968), a Brazilian orchestra from the 60’s, lead by the Maestro Abigail Moura that is all about unique percussion instruments with authentic Afro Brazilian rhythms.

It is hard to describe what you will get with this LP, I think the best approach is to introduce personnel listing to foreseen by the instruments what this record exactly is.

My special gratitude to Ed Motta for planning together this post and introduce this unique orchestra to Loronixers. Ticiana also made some complimentary work with historical research.


Afro Brazilian Instruments: Genny Pires (Urucungo), José Pedro (Angona-puíta), Joércio Soares (Agogô), Antônio Cruz (Gonguê), Oswaldino Lucas (Rum), Carlos Negreiros (Rumpi), Cândido Santos (Lê), Valmir Rosa (Afoxê), Djalma da Paixão (Adjá).

Brass Instruments: Horácio Soares (Sax alto, Clarineta), Carmélio Alves (Sax tenor, Clarineta), João Amâncio (Sax alto, Clarineta), Álvaro Nascimento (Sax tenor, Clarineta), Ananias da Silva (Trumpete), Gamaliel da Silva (Trumpete), Jaime da Silva (Trumpete), Alfredo Alves (Trombone) e Milton Profeta (Trombone)


01 – Agô Lonan (Abigail Moura)
02 – Tire o Calundú (Abigail Moura)
03 – Índia (Abigail Moura)
04 – Palmares (Abigail Moura)
05 – Babaloxá (Abigail Moura)
06 – Canto Para Omulú (Abigail Moura)
07 – Mo-fi-la-do-fê (Abigail Moura)
08 – Saudação aos Orixás (Abigail Moura)
09 – Xangô (Abigail Moura)
10 – Nagana (Abigail Moura)
11 – Os Oinho de Iaiá (Abigail Moura)
12 – Rei N’aruanda (Abigail Moura)


Este disco pode ser buscado no Fidel’s Eyglasses, onde os dois discos da Orquestra (1957 e 1968) estão disponíveis.