Oscar Castro Neves & Paul Winter – Brazilian Days (1998)

26 04 2012

Link original: Oscar Castro Neves & Paul Winter – Brazilian Days (1998)
Publicado em: Saturday, June 16, 2007 by zecalouro

Oscar Castro Neves, I think there is no better closing to a day that started with Ella Fitzgerald and complemented with the great Chiquinho do Acordeon. I have been with this album for a long time that has gone out of print for unexplainable reasons. One of the most successful videos at Loronix was Oscar Castro Neves performance at Ramsey Lewis Legends of Jazz Show and now we will double it, presenting Oscar collaboration with Paul Winter, Brazilian Days and another excerpt of that show, with Ivan Lins and Ramsey Lewis at the piano.

This is Oscar Castro Neves & Paul Winter – Brazilian Days (1998), for Living Music. Twelve Bossa Nova numbers recorded in duo with Oscar Castro Neves guitar and Paul Winter on sax. Self-explanatory music, the duo has the accompaniment of two Brazilian musicians, the bassist Nilson da Matta and drummer Paulo Braga, delivering a more than adequate rhythm section to overall record. Do not miss the awesome video bellow.

Tracks include:

01 – Aula De Matemática (Tom Jobim / Marino Pinto)
02 – Coisa Mais Linda (Carlos Lyra / Vinicius de Moraes)
03 – Feitio De Oração (Vadico / Noel Rosa)
04 – Feio Não É Bonito (Carlos Lyra / Gianfrancesco Guarnieri)
05 – Minha Namorada (Carlos Lyra / Vinicius de Moraes)
06 – Também Quem Mandou (Carlos Lyra / Vinicius de Moraes)
07 – Ana Luisa (Tom Jobim)
08 – Feitiço Da Vila (Vadico / Noel Rosa)
09 – Canto Triste (Edu Lobo / Vinicius de Moraes)
10 – Imagem (Luis Eça / Aloysio de Oliveira)
11 – Por Causa De Você (Tom Jobim / Dolores Duran)
12 – Se É Tarde Me Perdoa (Carlos Lyra / Ronaldo Bôscoli)


Este disco pode ser buscado no CB Latin Jazz Corner. Para quem se interessou pelo programa do Ramsey Lewis com Oscar Castro Neves e Ivan Lins, ele está disponível, completo, no Youtube:

Paul Winter with Carlos Lyra – The Sound of Ipanema (1965)

2 08 2011

Link original: Paul Winter with Carlos Lyra – The Sound of Ipanema (1965)
Publicado em: Friday, July 07, 2006 by zecalouro

Paul Winter with Carlos Lyra – The Sound of Ipanema is a great surprise. Paul Winter sax makes that kind of match with Lyra’s voice and guitar.

zecalouro does not have much to say about Paul Winter, maybe he was not on a good moment when recording this LP because Lyra takes the spotlight and seems to be on a very nicemoment.

Milton Banana (drums) and Sergio Mendes (piano) are also on this record making the perfect background to this nice 1965 LP.


Este disco pode ser buscado no CB Latin Jazz Bossa.