Sacha Rubin – No Balaio (1967)

21 08 2012

Link original: Sacha Rubin – No Balaio (1967)
Publicado em: Tuesday, September 25, 2007 by zecalouro

This is the third album from the pianist Sacha Rubin at Loronix. Sacha was also the owner of the legendary Sacha’s nightclub, in Rio de Janeiro, Leme, open for business throughout decades in the building left to mine. This album has a great difference from the others already released, it was recorded live, on a manner that you hear people talking to each other and the sounds of the nightclub routine such like glasses hitting each other, people calling waiters, etc. Let’s see.

This is Sacha Rubin – No Balaio (1967), for London, featuring Sacha piano and not credited crooners, probably nightclub guests singing together with Sacha at the piano. In spite the music, this cover alone deserves to be at Loronix, truly beautiful and ahead of time. The repertoire features two big medleys. Tracks include:

Side A

01 – Manhattan (R. Rodgers / L. Hart)
02 – You’re My Everything (Discon / Young / Warren)
03 – This Is My Song (Charles Chaplin)
04 – Marie Marie (Charles Trenet / Chauliac)
05 – I Left My Heart In San Francisco (D. Cross / G. Cory)
06 – Red Roses For a Blue Lady (S. Tepper / R. Brodsky)
07 – Apelo (Baden Powell / Vinicius de Moraes)
08 – Quem Te Viu Quem Te Vê (Chico Buarque)
09 – As Time Goes By (H. Hupfeld)
10 – Autumn In New York (V. Duke)
11 – Que Reste-t-il de nos Amours (Charles Trenet / L. Wilson)

Side B

01 – Wien Wien Nur Du Allein (R. Sieczynisk)
02 – Rossana (Sette Uomini D’oro) (A. Trovajoli / S. Simoni)
03 – Somewhere My Love (M. Jarre / Paul Francis Webster)
04 – The Shadow Of You Smile (J. Mandel / Paul Francis Webster)
05 – Darling Je Vous Aime Beaucoup (A. Sosenko)
06 – Chez Moi (Sievier / Feline / Misraki)
07 – Danke Schoen (Kaempfert / Ilene)
08 – I Get a Kick Out Of You (Cole Porter)
09 – Amor de Carnaval (Zé Keti)
10 – Roses Of Picardy (H. Wood / F. E. Weatherly)
11 – I’ll See You In My Dreams (I. Jones / G. Kahn)


Esse disco pode ser buscado no Parallel Realities.

Sacha’s Piano – Drinks After Midnight (1965)

22 11 2011

Link original: Sacha’s Piano – Drinks After Midnight (1965)
Publicado em: Tuesday, December 26, 2006 by zecalouro

Hello, Good night! I’m making an interval between the Sabadabada update announcement post and this one just to give you time to a full journey on Peter’s site. Let’s start the day with a Mr. X., contribution of an artist that I have a great sympathy. This is Sacha – Drinks After Midnight (1965), for London, another release from the owner of the legendary Sacha’s Nightclub in Leme, Rio de Janeiro.

Sacha’s nightclub lasts longer; it was opened until the late 90’s very close to the place that zecalouro lives. Sacha is from Austria and came to Brazil in 1948, founding Sacha’s only a couple of years before his arriving. Different from the last Sacha release, Drinks after midnight has an orchestra to support Sacha’s piano, conducted and arranged by Maestro Cipo. I know that after these seasons parties you are not in the mood to see drinks, but this is nice record sponsored by Mr. X that you should not miss. Tracks include:

01 – All The Way (S. Cahn / V. Heusen)
02 – Who’s Sorry Now (T. Snyder / B. Kalmar / H. Ruby)
03 – Yesterdays (J. Kern / O. Harbach)
04 – You do Something To Me (Cole Porter)
05 – Indian Summer (V. hervert / A. Dubin)
06 – How Deep Is The Ocean (Irving Berlin)
07 – They Cant’t Take That Away From Me (George Gershwin / Ira Gershwin)
08 – I’ll Never Smile Again (R. Lowe)
09 – The Song Is You (J. Kern / O. Hammerstein II)
10 – All The Things You Are (J. Kern / O. Hammerstein II)
11 – I Only Have Eyes For You (H. Warren / A. Dubin)
12 – Always (Irving Berlin)


Este disco pode ser buscado no Abracadabra.

Sacha – Sacha no Sacha’s (1958)

15 09 2011

Link original: Sacha – Sacha no Sacha’s (1958)
Publicado em: Sunday, October 15, 2006 by zecalouro

Let’s think about Casablanca, the movie with Humphrey Bogart. Humphrey Bogart, Rick at Casablanca was the owner of a nightclub Rick’s America in Cafe. Rick was in Africa, in the middle of World War II, and his club was a neutral territory, Rick had the command, giving orders and running the business with authority.

This LP is about Sacha, an Austrian pianist. Sacha came to Brazil in 1948 and a couple of years later founded his own nightclub, Sacha’s. According with some friends of my parents, Sacha was such like Rick, running his nightclub like his own place. The difference – what a big difference – is that Sacha plays his own piano and released some records in the 50’s and 60’s.

I didn’t know this artist existence, thanks to Mr. X. that sent to zecalouro a later Sacha LP and then I could search for more, finding this one. This is Sacha – Sacha no Sacha’s (1958), which has a perfect ambience of the old nightclubs in Rio de Janeiro. I’m sure that you will find it interesting. Tracks include:

1. Ses Mains (J. Bateill)
You’re Sensational (Cole Porter)
Anema e Core (Manlio)
It’s Delovely (Cole Porter)
Beija-me (Roberto Martins / Mário Rossi)
Invitation (B. Kaper)
It’s All Right With Me (Cole Porter)
Valsa de Uma Cidade (Antônio Maria / Ismael Netto)
Old Devil Moon-from This Moment On (B. Lane)
Starlight (O. Cesana)

2. “Seleção de My Fair Lady”
I’ve Got Accustomed To Her Face (F. Loewe)
On The Street Where You Live (F. Loewe)
I Could Have Danced All Night (F. Loewe)

3. Se Acaso Você Chegasse (Lupicínio Rodrigues)

4. Around The World (V. Young / H. Adamson)

5. Parceria (Ismael Netto / Antônio Maria)

6. You Made Me Feel So Young (J. Myrow / M. Gordon)

7. Cabelos Brancos (Herivelto Martins / Marino Pinto)


Este disco pode ser buscado no Abracadabra.