Astrud Gilberto – Astrud Gilberto with Turrentine (1973)

18 03 2012

Link original: Astrud Gilberto – Astrud Gilberto with Turrentine (1973)
Publicado em: Thursday, May 03, 2007 by zecalouro

The first to mention and call my attention to this album was The Jazzman and I remember we could not make it at that time due commercial availability. Then Caetano sent it on his last package and for my surprise it has gone out of print again. In spite of being almost unknown to Brazilian mass audience, Astrud Gilberto is famous worldwide and one of the most wanted artists at Loronix. I’m saving a great Astrud surprise for Loronix 1st Anniversary Celebration. Stay tuned.

This is Astrud Gilberto – Astrud Gilberto with Turrentine (1973), for Columbia, featuring the US sax player Stanley Turrentine. Very easy to describe and self-explanatory, Astrud Gilberto with Stanley Turrentine is a reunion of top-notch musicians lead by Eumir Deodato (piano, arrangements), such as: Sivuca, Dom Um Romao, Gene Bertoncini, Ron Carter, Toots Thielemans, among others. The repertoire mixes Brazilian and American songs and there are two instrumental tracks, To a Flame and Vera Cruz by Milton Nascimento and Fernando Brant. Tracks include:

PersonnelStanley Turrentine
(sax tenor)
Eumir Deodato
(arrangements, piano)
Gene Bertoncini, Sam Brown and Sivuca
Bob Mann
(guitar solo)
Ron Carter and Russel George
Airto Moreira, Joao Palma, Dom Um Romao and Dennis Seiwell
Toots Thielemans
Hubert Laws, George Marge, Romeo Penque and Jerome Richardson

Track List

01 – Wanting Things (Burt Bacharach / H. David)
02 – Mulher Rendeira (Brazilian Tapestry) (Tradicional / Adpt. Eumir Deodato)
03 – To a Flame (S. Stills) Instrumental
04 – Solo El Fin (For All We Know) (R. Wilson / A. James / Vrs. K. Freed)
05 – Zazueira (Jorge Ben “Jorge Benjor”)
06 – Ponteio (Edu Lobo / Capinan)
07 – Traveling Light (Eumir Deodato / M. Everett)
08 – Vera Cruz (Milton Nascimento / Fernando Brant) Instrumental
09 – História de Amor (Love Story) (C. Sigman / F. Lal / Vrs. A. Alpin)
10 – Where There’s a Heartache (There Must Be a Heart) (Burt Bacharach / H. David)


Este disco pode ser buscado provisoriamente via o magnet link.