Susannah McCorkle – Sabia (1990)

15 02 2012

Link original: Susannah McCorkle – Sabia (1990)
Publicado em: Saturday, March 24, 2007 by zecalouro

Here we go on another Bossa Nova international release provided by Caetano Rodrigues. I don’t need to say that Caetano has been taking awesome albums to Loronixers, but this time he is making something very special and unique. Susanna McCorkle is really special, she was an interpreter before embracing a singing career, being fluent on several languages, such as: Italian, Spanish, German and Portuguese in addition to English, her mother language.

This is Susannah McCorkle – Sabia (1990), for Concord Jazz, featuring ten Brazilian songs plus Estate, switching between Portuguese, English and Italian. It is amazing how she makes so good on such different languages. You will have a very pleasant album, beautiful and sad, Susannah McCorkle kept hidden a chronic depression during years and career problems lead her to commit suicide in 2001, New York City. Tracks include:

01 – Tristeza (Sadness, Please Go Away)
02 – Estate (Summer)
03 – Vivo Sonhando (Living on Dreams)
04 – Dilema (Dilemma)
05 – Sabia (Songbird)
06 – So Many Stars
07 – So Danco Samba (I Only Dance the Samba)
08 – Manha de Carnaval (Sunrise)
09 – Pra Machucar meu Coracao (The Day we Said Goodbye)
10 – Travessia (Bridges)
11 – A Felicidade (Happiness)


Este disco pode ser buscado no  Jazz Pouco de tudo (MP3) e no LossLessJazz  (FLAC)