Tania Maria – Tania Maria Live (1979)

29 03 2012

Link original: Tania Maria – Tania Maria Live (1979)
Publicado em: Thursday, May 17, 2007 by zecalouro

Hello, Good Evening! Everybody knows that Tania Maria is among the artists that I have limited knowledge about, but I know that Tania Maria puts her heart on top of everything she makes, mainly live concerts, which are the ones that I like most. This concert was first made available with the help of Jean-Yves, also known as Jean do Trombone, and now Caetano Rodrigues makes it again on a better quality, for mine and for Loronixers pleasure.

This is Tania Maria – Tania Maria Live (1979), for Accord, live performance at the Azzhus Montmartre, Copenhagen, featuring Tania Maria (piano and vocal), Andre Ceccarelli (bass) and Marc Bertheaux (drums). I decided to make it with no track separation, delivering to Loronixers a single track for each side. Take also a time to watch the video with Tania Maria performing live. Tracks include:

01 – Mr. & Mrs.
02 – Cartomante
03 – Pingas da Vida
04 – Seu Dia Vai Chegar
05 – O Que e Amar
06 – Carona


Este disco pode ser buscado na Rádio Forma e Elenco. Quanto ao vídeo, não sei qual seria. Selecionei no Youtube um em que ela canta “Come with me”:

Tania Maria – The Lady From Brazil (1987)

26 11 2011

Link original: Tania Maria – The Lady From Brazil (1987)
Publicado em: Friday, December 29, 2006 by zecalouro

One of the several things I learned with Loronix is to appreciate Tania Maria. This woman plays wild, never cheats you and seems like is having fun and doing the best she can on every record she makes. A friend of mine said that she plays like a man, not a correct statement that I disagree, anyway, a nice definition of her style.

I pretty new to her and I’m still navigating on her discography to make the best picks. Just find this one last week and it is probably one of her best releases. This is Tania Maria – The Lady From Brazil (1987), for EMI-Odeon and produced by George Duke for George Duke Enterprises Inc. Breathless recording set with a long personnel listing, different on each track. I will pick the well known ones, as follows: Tania Maria (piano, keyboard, percussion, vocal), George Duke (sinclavier), Paulinho da Costa (percussion), Steve Gadd (drums), Anthony Jackson and Eddie Gomez (bass), George Howard (sax), among others. This LP is out of print, the last Tania Maria release, Via Brasil, was reported in print and removed. Tracks include:

01 – The Lady From Brazil (Tânia Maria / Trish Sisson)
02 – I Should Nlot Call You (Tânia Maria / Rob Crocker)
03 – Tanoca Vignette (Tânia Maria)
04 – Bronx (Tânia Maria)
05 – Just Get Up (Tânia Maria / Trish Sisson)
06 – Valeu (Tânia Maria)
07 – All Gone Love (Tânia Maria / Trish Sisson)
08 – It Hurts So Much (Tânia Maria / Trish Sisson)


Este disco pode ser buscado no Um que Tenha.

Tania Maria – Apresentamos Tania Maria (1966)

2 10 2011

Link original: Tania Maria – Apresentamos Tania Maria (1966)
Publicado em: Saturday, November 11, 2006 by zecalouro

Some of Loronix friends says that this is a late release, but I think, after more than 400 releases the timing is good to present Tania Maria – Apresentamos Tania Maria (1966), for Continental. I’m not sure if it is Tania’s debut LP, but it is a very early release of this Brazilian singer, active through three decades since she started with the age of 13 encouraged by her father, also musician.

Tania Maria is also a pianist, building an active career outside Brazil, being recognized as a Jazz singer on several countries and by renowned musicians such like Charlie Byrd. Apresentamos Tania Maria has Tania Maria (piano), Neco (guitar), Luis Marinho (bass), Edison Machado (drums) and Maurico Einhorn (harmonica on tracks 5, 10 and 11). Once again Edison Machado show us that he is the real *samba* drummer. Tracks include:

01 – Não Tem Tradução (Ismael Silva / Nilton Bastos / Francisco Alves) — Com Quem Roupa (Noel Rosa) — Três Apitos (Noel Rosa) — Feitiço da Vila (Noel Rosa / Vadico) — Feitio de Oração (Noel Rosa)
02 – Viver Morrer (Jota Júnior)
03 – A Voz do Povo (João do Vale / Luis Vieira) — Nego São (Lisboa / Tranquilo)
04 – Papão (Cláudio E. Mendes / Joaquim Costa Reis)
05 – Ficou na Saudade (Maurício Einhorn / Arnaldo Costa / Sergio A. S. Leite)
06 – Divisão (Gil / João Luis / Tânia Maria)
07 – De Manhã (Caetano Veloso)
08 – Terra de Ninguém (Marcos Valle / Paulo Sergio Valle)
09 – A Paz (João Leal Brito “britinho” / Fernando César)
10 – Agora (João Luis / Hélio Delmiro)
11 – Paz de Espírito (Maurício Einhorn / Arnaldo Costa)
12 – O Verão Vem Aí (Paulo Valdez / Otávio)


Este disco pode ser buscado no Edison Machado.