Varios Artistas – Musica Popular Brasileira em Expansao (1965)

3 01 2013

Link original: Varios Artistas – Musica Popular Brasileira em Expansao (1965)
Publicado em: Friday, January 04, 2008 by zecalouro

Musica Popular Brasileira em Expansao (1965)

I’m sure you will be amazed, once again Caetano pleases us with another album with lots of fascinating details. I have searched for this one on every discography, auction site, search engines and I could not gather a single mention. If you Google “musica popular brasileira em expansao”, the result is null. Anyway, this is not what makes this album a treat. Let’s see.

This is Aecio Flavio e Sexteto, Berimbau Trio e Quinteto Sambatida – Musica Popular Brasileira em Expansao (1965), for Festival. Maestro Aecio Flavio is a well-known Brasilian artist that takes part on this session with a sextet on eight songs, Berimbau is the legendary Bossa Nova instrumental trio that brings the bassist Bituca, Wagner Tiso and Paulinho Braga and Quinteto Sambatida is so far an enygma. Bituca sings track 01 – Cancao do Sal with Aecio Flavio Sexteto and I will ask for Caetano Rodrigues help to review this album and explain who exactly is Bituca. Tracks include:

“In 1965, the producer Ismael Correa was given a task by the Festival Label. He was to bring together on one LP, three of the most significant groups from the Minas Gerais instrumental Bossa Nova scene (unknown at the time on the Rio – Sao Paulo axis). It would be just a good compilation album, if it was not for the curious participation of the Berimbau Trio bass player, nicknamed Bituca who sang “Cancao do Sal” with the sextet of the pianist Aecio Flavio. Later he changed back to his real name: Milton Nascimento.” – Caetano Rodrigues

Final and important message: you will see bellow a new Loronix feature, made available only for testing purposes. There you can have a “test drive” on four tracks of this album, including Cancao do Sal with Milton Nascimento vocals. I need feedback on this new feature to decide for a purchase and implementation on a regular basis. Please use comments section to provide feedback. Thanks in advance. Tracks include:

The Performers

Aecio Flavio Sexteto
Berimbau Trio
Quinteto Sambatida

Track List

01 – Cancao do Sal with Aecio Flavio Sexteto and the special guest Bituca
02 – Tamba with Berimbau Trio
03 – Nana with Aecio Flavio Sexteto
04 – Cheganca with Berimbau Trio
05 – Nuvens with Aecio Flavio Sexteto
06 – Arrastao with Aecio Flavio Sexteto
07 – Preciso Aprender a Ser So with Quinteto Sambatida
08 – Terra de Ninguem with Aecio Flavio Sexteto
09 – Mensagem with Quinteto Sambatida
10 – Joyce’s Samba with Aecio Flavio Sexteto
11 – Aleluia with Aecio Flavio Sexteto
12 – Waltema with Aecio Flavio Sexteto


Esse disco pode ser buscado no Parallel Realities.


Wagner Tiso – Wagner Tiso (1978)

13 06 2012

Link original: Wagner Tiso – Wagner Tiso (1978)
Publicado em: Wednesday, July 25, 2007 by zecalouro

This is to address a suggestion made by Good Groove on the last Paulo Moura Quarteto album. I’m glad, Loronix has more than a year and we still find new artists to show friends. Thanks Mr. Groove. Wagner Tiso is an internationally renowned musician and solid Brazilian music collaborator for decades.

This is Wagner Tiso – Wagner Tiso (1978), for Odeon, which is Wagner Tiso debut LP, a late first album by an artist that started his career on recordings in 1958 as member of Conjunto W’s Boys, featuring Wagner Tiso, Waltinho, Wilson, Wanderley and Milton Nascimento, credited as Wilton Nascimento, probably to be compatible with all W members. Since then, Wagner Tiso performed as sideman at several groups, such as: Berimbau Trio, Conjunto Sambacana, Conjunto de Edison Machado, Paulo Moura, among many others. This is a really nice album and I suggest that you visit Discos do Brasil for the complete personnel listing, here. Thanks once again Good Groove. Tracks include:


Wagner Tiso
(arrangements, piano)

Tavinho Bonfa
(violao, guitar)
Chico Batera, Marku Ribas
Altamiro Carrilho
… more at Discos do Brasil

Track List

01 – A Igreja Majestosa (Wagner Tiso / Nivaldo Ornelas) with Coral Pro-Arte
02 – Os Cafezais Sem Fim (Wagner Tiso)
03 – Choro de Mãe (Wagner Tiso)
04 – Seis Horas da Tarde (Milton Nascimento / Wagner Tiso) Mineiro Pau (Milton Nascimento / Wagner Tiso) with Coral Pró-arte
05 – Rapsódia Trespontana (Wagner Tiso)
06 – Indinha do Bichinho (Wagner Tiso)
07 – Monasterak (Nivaldo Ornelas)
08 – Zagreb (Wagner Tiso) with Milton Nascimento
09 – Desfeixo (Wagner Tiso) with Maria Lúcia Godoy


Esse disco pode ser buscado no Abracadabra.

Music Video | Paulo Moura

8 06 2012

Link original: Music Video | Paulo Moura 
Publicado em: Sunday, July 22, 2007 by zecalouro

This is the first video of Paulo Moura at Loronix. Wagner Tiso accompanies Paulo Moura at the piano. Thanks Luiz for this one. Luiz sent to zecalouro all his video collection by mail, a beautiful tower with more than 30 DVDs full of videos. He is the man and we are the happy friends to watch Paulo Moura with Wagner Tiso.

Hope uEnjoy!


Conseguimos o vídeo acima graças ao amigo bOssas nOvas. Outro belo vídeo com os dois e mais a Orquestra Petrobrás Sinfônica segue abaixo.