Hermeto Pascoal e Grupo – Festa dos Deuses (1992)

31 12 2012

Link original: Hermeto Pascoal e Grupo – Festa dos Deuses (1992)
Publicado em: Monday, December 31, 2007 by zecalouro

Hermeto Pascoal - Festa dos Deuses (1992)todos

We closed 2006 with a Luiz Bonfa wearing a tuxedo, in the spirit of the New Year’s Eve celebration. I’m a superstitious parrot; so it is better do the same in 2007. We are closing 2008 with an artist that represents the music from Brazil, a real ambassador that promotes our music across the globe, Hermeto Pascoal. This white cover represents peace, and it is the color people use to wear in Brazil in New Year Eve celebration. The title has the words Festa and Deuses, just to bring us good luck in 2008. Anyway, in spite of this choice, driven by the occasion, this is a truly awesome album that had prematurely gone out of print. Let’s see.

This is Hermeto Pascoal e Grupo – Festa dos Deuses (1992), for Philips. Hermeto Pascoal liner notes is the best approach to review Festa dos Deuses, made available bellow. Have a nice 2008. Tracks include:

Festa dos Deuses / Fest of the Gods is a work that I call Universal Music in all its senses: rhythmic, harmonic and melodic and fundamentally original.

I am happy to have several very special guests on this disk, like Brazilian President Collor de Mello, physical education teacher Fabíula Pascoal and the great actor and poet Mario Lago. Each of them sings marvelously well within the “sound of the aura,” sensitively captured. It is virtually impossible to explain with words and adjectives what the “sound of aura” actually is, but one thing I do know: it depends greatly upon the musicality and perception of the musician.

Then there is she, who said to me on the telephone: “Godfather, I can only reach from a low E until the F on he 5th line of the music staff,” but as the recording progressed, she got more and more relaxed until she was able to reach a high D. Because of this she ended up recording a full 7 tracks with us. I have the pleasure to present you Luciana Souza, a new and beautiful voice.

I am suspect when I speak about these great musicians, my brothers in sound in the group: Carlos, Jovino, Itibere, Marcio, Fabio and Pernambuco, but I simply must thank them for all they give of themselves, so much truth and love for this music.

Hermeto Pascoal


Hermeto Pascoal


(piano, keyboards, apito, solo de berrante, chaleira, maquina de costura, cavaquinho, surdo, flauta de bambu, accordion, voice, arrangements)

Jovino Santos Neto


(piano, keyboards, flute)

Carlos Malta


(sax, flute)

Itibere Zwarg



Marcio Bahia


(drums, percussion)

Fabio Pascoal






Track List

01 – O Galo do Airan (Hermeto Pascoal)
02 – Rainha da Pedra Azul (Hermeto Pascoal)
03 – Viajando Pelo Brasil (Hermeto Pascoal)
04 – O Farol Que nos Guia (Hermeto Pascoal)
05 – Pensamento Positivo (Trecho da Entrevista Concedida Pelo Excelentíssimo Sr Presidente da República Dr Fernando Collor de Mello)
06 – Peneirando Água (Hermeto Pascoal)
07 – Canção no Paiol Em Curitiba (Hermeto Pascoal)
08 – Aula de Natação (Fabíola Pascoal)
09 – Três Coisas (Mário Lago)
10 – Irmãos Latinos (Hermeto Pascoal)
11 – Depois do Baile (Hermeto Pascoal)
12 – Quando as Aves Se Encontram Nasce o Som (Uirapuru – Sabiá – Corvo – Fogo-apagou – Galo – Bacurau – Marreco) (Hermeto Pascoal)
13 – Round Midnight (Hanigham / Williams / T. Monke)
14 – Fazenda Nova (Hermeto Pascoal)
15 – Ginga Carioca (Hermeto Pascoal)
16 – Chapéu de Baeta (Hermeto Pascoal)


Esse disco pode ser buscado no Um que Tenha. Notem a presença fabulosa da Luciana Souza nos vocais (faixas 1, 2, 4 e 7), quando ainda era uma desconhecida, no mesmo ano em que lançou seu primeiro disco independente.