Boca Livre – Bicicleta (1980)

30 07 2012

Link original: Boca Livre – Bicicleta (1980)
Publicado em: Monday, September 10, 2007 by zecalouro

Hello, Good Evening! This is the second album by the Brazilian vocal group Boca Livre, a great improvement of what they have accomplished on their debut LP. Bicicleta has a better production and a very special guest on two tracks, Antonio Carlos Jobim. Let’s see.

This is Boca Livre – Bicicleta (1980), such as the first release, this album is an independent production, with no formal recording company association. Perhaps this is the reason for not receiving so far a CD reissue. I have this album since the release date and I got very surprised this week when notice Antonio Carlos Jobim participation. The Brazilian percussionist Nana Vasconcellos is credited as percussion direction and probably delivers percussion playing. My highlights are Antonio Carlos Jobim participation (both indicated on track list) and the song that gives the album title, Bicicleta, with a beautiful vocal arrangement. Tracks include:


David Tygel
(viola, violao, vocal)
Jose Renato
(violao, vocal)
Mauricio Maestro
(bass, violao, viola, vocal, instrumental and vocal arrangements)
Lourenco Baeta
(violao, viola, vocal, flute, violin)

Track List

01 – Um Canto de Trabalho (Nelson Ângelo / Cacaso)
02 – As Moças (Zé Renato / Juca Filho)
03 – Correnteza (Tom Jobim / Luis Bonfá) with Antonio Carlos Jobim
04 – Neném (Maurício Maestro)
05 – Porto Seguro (David Tygel / Márcio Borges)
06 – Bicicleta (Zé Renato)
07 – Saci (Paulo Jobim / Ronaldo Bastos) with Antonio Carlos Jobim
08 – Passarinho (Lourenço Baeta)
09 – “Boi do Maranhão” – Urrou do Boi (Tradicional) – Boi do Pindaré (Tradicional) – Boi Danado (Sergio Habibe)
10 – Arado (Dalmo Medeiros)
11 – Nossa Dança (Danilo Caymmi / Ana Terra)


Esse disco pode ser buscado no 300 discos.

Boca Livre – Boca Livre (1979)

28 03 2012

Link original: Boca Livre – Boca Livre (1979)
Publicado em: Wednesday, May 16, 2007 by zecalouro

Boca Livre is a Brazilian vocal group that had some importance in the early 80’s. This is their first LP and it was released independently of record labels. Anyway, there is no much importance so far, several albums were released independently, but this one has something different, if you were in Brazil by this time, you will remember that this album was a blockbuster and performed very well at both sides, commercially and artistic, let’s now understand what we have here.

This is Boca Livre – Boca Livre (1979), Boca Livre debut LP, released independently by Mauricio Maestro (instrumental and voice arrangements, bass, vocals), Ze Renato (violao, vocals), Claudio Nucci (violao, vocals) and David Tygel (violao, vocals). The first two tracks of this album – Quem Tem a Viola and Toada – are directly responsible for the commercial triumph and really worth the entire record. Boca Livre is still active, although this original formation has changed several times since this first and essential album. Tracks include:

01 – Quem Tem a Viola (Cecilia) (Zé Renato / Xico Chaves / Cláudio Nucci / Juca Filho)
02 – Toada (Na Direção do Dia) (Zé Renato / Cláudio Nucci / Juca Filho)
03 – Mistérios (Maurício Maestro / Joyce)
04 – Boi (Nelson Ângelo)
05 – Diana (Toninho Horta / Fernando Brant)
06 – Ponta de Areia (Milton Nascimento / Fernando Brant)
07 – Feito Mistério (Lourenço Baeta / Cacaso)
08 – Pedra da Lua (Toninho Horta / Cacaso)
09 – Barcarola do São Francisco (Geraldo Azevedo / Carlos Fernando)
10 – Fazenda (Nelson Ângelo)
11 – Minha Terra (Tema da Peça Teatral “Papa Highirte) (David Tygel / Oduvaldo Viana Filho)


Este disco pode ser buscado no 300 Discos.