Carlos Monteiro de Souza e Seu Conjunto – Pra Frente (1968)

14 02 2012

Link original: Carlos Monteiro de Souza e Seu Conjunto – Pra Frente (1968)
Publicado em: Friday, March 23, 2007 by zecalouro

Hello! Good Night. I’m happy with the idea of showing Loronixers how easy is to make comments. The best ideas are those that come out of the blue. I think that less the 10% of Loronixers could watch the video already, and so far we have comments from friends that never had the chance to write before. Thanks for supporting the ideas of this crazy parrot.

Let’s start the day with an album that has been here for a long time and I could only remember with the help of Quimsy, the mighty owner and maintainer of Quimsy at

This is Carlos Monteiro de Souza e Seu Conjunto – Pra Frente (1968), for Parlophone, featuring Maestro Carlos Monteiro de Souza with no orchestra this time, but accompanied by a combo. Little is know about this LP from the nice Parlophone label with their easy to identify albums with the big P on cover. Caetano will be pleased with this post, although the chance of this record been missed from his great collection is less than 0,5%. Tracks include:

01 – Estamos Aí (Maurício Einhorn / Durval Ferreira / Regina Werneck)
02 – O Cantador (Dori Caymmi / Nelson Motta)
03 – Carolina (Chico Buarque)
04 – Samba do Avião (Tom Jobim)
05 – Roda (Gilberto Gil / João Augusto)
06 – Linhas Cruzadas (Roberto Menescal)
07 – Samba de Verão (Marcos Valle / Paulo Sergio Valle)
08 – Tim Dom Dom (João Mello / Codó)
09 – Manhã de Primavera (Adilson Godoy)
10 – Travessia (Milton Nascimento / Fernando Brant)
11 – Mancada (Gilberto Gil)
12 – Sambou Sambou (João Mello / João Donato)


Não tinha esse disco. Porém, graças aos amigos Andreas e Martoni, ele agora está disponível na Rádio Forma e Elenco.


Carlos Monteiro de Souza e Sua Orquestra – Metais em Brasa na Bossa Nova (1963)

18 12 2011

Link original: Carlos Monteiro de Souza e Sua Orquestra – Metais em Brasa na Bossa Nova (1963)
Publicado em: Saturday, January 20, 2007 by zecalouro

Thomas is a Loronixer that said something really great on the last Portinho – Fogo nos Metais post. He said that his girlfriend does not appreciate Brazilian music and started kicking around this apartment when he played Portinho after an exhausting day. I need to tell you something, this LP is of the same style of Portinho, Samba with orchestra, and the difference is that this one is better. Caetano, which is the friend who provided this release, thinks the same.

This is Carlos Monteiro de Souza e Sua Orquestra – Metais em Brasa na Bossa Nova (1963), for Philips. Do not take this one as a reissue; the previous copy is not so good as this one, ripped with diamond cutter by Caetano Rodrigues. The liner notes says that this is the first LP that takes Bossa Nova rhythms to orchestral arrangements. You can believe it or not, but it does not matter, this is a wonderful LP. As The Jazzman said, you should not walk to it, you should run. Tracks include:

01 – This Is Bossa Nova (A. Soares / Carlos Monteiro de Souza)
02 – Só Danço Samba (Tom Jobim / Vinicius de Moraes)
03 – Desafinado (Tom Jobim / Newton Mendonça)
04 – Corcovado (Tom Jobim)
05 – Amor Sincopado (Chico Feitosa / Marino Pinto)
06 – Sambadinho (Orlann Divo / Roberto Jorge)
07 – O Pato (Jaime Silva / Neusa Teixeira)
08 – Samba de Uma Nota Só (Tom Jobim / Newton Mendonça)
09 – Lobo Bobo (Carlos Lyra / Ronaldo Bôscoli)
10 – Este Seu Olhar (Tom Jobim)
11 – Tristeza de Nós Dois (Durval Ferreira / Maurício Einhorn / Bebeto)
12 – O Barquinho (Roberto Menescal / Ronaldo Bôscoli)


Este disco pode ser buscado no Toque Musical.