Billy Eckstine – Momento Brasileiro (1979)

9 01 2012

Link original: Billy Eckstine – Momento Brasileiro (1979)
Publicado em: Sunday, February 11, 2007 by zecalouro 

I’m arriving for a pleasure time with friends, a lot of music, stories and excellent conversation with several Loronixers. I was really a great time. The mysterious Mr. X – The Legend Strikes Back, complemented this great time sending to zecalouro’s mailbox this unique piece that deserves an immediate reveal to Loronixers. Thanks Mr. X.

This is Billy Eckstine – Momento Brasileiro (1979), for Som Livre, recorded in California, US, this record is certainly a tribute of Billy Eckstine to the music of Brazil. Billy Eckstine is an American Jazz singer with a really nice baritone voice that influenced several musicians throughout decades and is also recognized as the first romantic black male singer in popular music.

Momento Brasileiro is arranged by Oscar Castro Neves and produced by Aloysio de Oliveira. Special attention to the interpretation and English lyrics of the song Cidade Maravilhosa (Andre Filho), recorded first in 1938 by Aurora Miranda – Carmem Miranda sister -, this tune has a great identification with the city of Rio de Janeiro and sometimes taken by mistake as Rio’s hymn. Personnel listing is with the music this time. Tracks include:

01 – Cidade Maravilhosa (André Filho / Vrs. Regina Werneck)
02 – I Apologize (A. Hofman / A. Goodhart / E. Nelson)
03 – Quiet Nights (Corcovado) (Tom Jobim / Vrs. G. Lees)
04 – Where Or When (R. Rodgers / L. Hart)
05 – Dindi (Tom Jobim / Aloysio de Oliveira / Vrs. Ray Gilbert)
06 – Dora (Dorival Caymmi / Vrs. Aloysio de Oliveira)
07 – Dreamer (Vivo Sonhando) (Tom Jobim / Vrs. G. Lees)
08 – You And I (Você e Eu) (Carlos Lyra / Vinicius de Moraes / Vrs. Gimbell)
09 – How Insensitive (Insensatez) (Tom Jobim / Vinicius de Moraes / Vrs. Gimbell)

This is Billy Eckstine – Momento Brasileiro (1979), at Loronix.


Este disco pode ser buscado no Um que Tenha.