Phil Woods – Floresta Canto (1975)

4 03 2012

Link na Internet Wayback Machine: Phil Woods – Floresta Canto (1975)
Publicado em: SUNDAY, APRIL 15, 2007

I’m very excited about tomorrow and you will be also really excited with this announcement. Tomorrow, probably by the end of the day, I will receive a mass contribution from the great friend of zecalouro, the author of the already legendary book Bossa Nova e Outras Bossas, the knowledgeable friend of all Loronixers and the man who brings the history of Bossa Nova to our community, Caetano Rodrigues.Let’s celebrate and let’s make it with a teaser of what we will have at Loronix tomorrow, a contribution by Caetano Rodrigues that could not be released with the last package. Let’s see.

This is Phil Woods – Floresta Canto (1975), for RCA Victor. Phil Woods made this record in collaboration with Chris Gunning and his orchestra during a trip to England in 1975. There are several hidden treasures inside this album; Phil Woods plays soprano sax, an instrument that he uses very sporadically, the repertoire mix Brazilian tunes with international tunes with backing vocal on some tracks and the orchestra arrangements are in collaboration by Phill Woods and Chirs Gunning. Thanks Caetano, I was really missing your releases. Can’t wait until tomorrow. Tracks include:

01 – Canto de Ossanha
02 – Let Me
03 – O Morro
04 – Chaldean Prayer
05 – Sails
06 – Roses
07 – Without You
08 – Portrait of Julia
09 – Jesse
10 – Menino das Laranjas

This is Phil Woods – Floresta Canto (1975), at Loronix.
Hope uEnjoy!


Não tinha esse disco. Porém, graças aos amigos Galego e Martoni, ele está agora disponível na Rádio Forma e Elenco.


Phil Woods – Astor & Elis (1996)

8 02 2012

Link original: Phil Woods – Astor & Elis (1996)
Publicado em: Friday, March 16, 2007 by zecalouro

Hello, Good night! May 12th is approaching fast. Nothing special on this day. I have friends that are maniac with special dates, such as birthday, 1 year of dating, one year of wedding, among several other examples. I really don’t mind. May, 12th celebrates a day that I never imagine we could reach, it is the celebration of one year since the first Loronix post. It is a Saturday and Caetano’s mind is on 1,000 KHz of ideas. Tomorrow, we will let you know about a great Caetano’s idea that we will need your feedback to make it happen. Meanwhile, let’s check this record, another fine release sponsored by Caetano Rodrigues.

This is Phil Woods – Astor & Elis (1996), for Chesky, featuring the sax and clarinet of Phil Woods on a personal and passionate tribute for Astor Piazzolla and Elis Regina. Actually, the first plan was to make a whole album to Elis Regina, which is Woods’ favorite singer, he said he always take a couple of Elis Regina albums when touring, along with some Charlie Parker, some Billie Holiday, etc.

Five out of the eleven titles in the album are by Astor Piazzolla, and another, Piece for Piazzolla is Phil’s tribute to him. The rest of the tunes are Brazilian, excepting Con Alma by Dizzie Gillespie. Caetano strongly recommends this record and Phil Woods’s albums with Brazilian music and Brazilian artists always take me by surprise. It is really wonderful that Phil Woods dedicated an entire recording to these really important artists from Brazil and Argentina. Tracks include:

01 – Dois pra La, Dois pra Ca
02 – Piece for Piazzolla
03 – Adios Nonino
04 – Oblivion
05 – Milonga del Angel
06 – Leija’s Game
07 – Invierno Porteno
08 – Elis
09 – Introduction to Cais / Atras da Porta
10 – Nada Sera Como Antes
11 – Con Alma


Last Minute Video: Elis Regina!


Não tinha esse disco. Porém, graças aos amigos Andreas, bOssas nOvas e Martoni, ele agora está disponível na Rádio Forma e Elenco.

Quanto ao vídeo, o nosso amigo bOssas nOvas nos indicou o link no Youtube onde encontra-lo.

Phil Woods & Irio de Paula – Encontro (on Jobim) (2001)

25 12 2011

Link original: Phil Woods & Irio de Paula – Encontro (on Jobim) (2001)
Publicado em: Friday, January 26, 2007 by zecalouro 

Caetano knows the business, I felt in love by this record since the first hearing. This is one of the 7 albums recorded by Phil Woods in a five days period in Italy, 2001. When I read about it, thought that this record would be a minor working on Phil Woods career. As usual, another great mistake of mine. It is a masterpiece. It was record as a duo with another great and very underrated Brazilian artist, Irio de Paula.

This is Phil Woods & Irio de Paula – Encontro (on Jobim) (2001), for Philology (Italy). This album landmark the first time he has played clarinet exclusively throughout a session. If you want to know more, Phil Wood was not familiar with the works of the Brazilian guitarist Irio de Paula prior the first day of recording, which should be a single day of recording since Phil recorded 7 albums in 5 days. Great record, very hard to find, released in Italy on a very limited edition. And it is all about Antonio Carlos Jobim. Tracks include:

01 – Eu Sei que Vou te Amar
02 – Samba do Aviao
03 – O Grande Amor
04 – Corcovado
05 – A Felicidade
06 – Brigas Nunca Mais
07 – Retrato em Branco e Preto
08 – Ana Luisa
09 – Days of Wine and Rose
10 – Autumn Leaves


Este disco pode ser buscado no Martoni. Estavam faltando as duas últimas músicas, mas nosso amigo colaborador anônimo nos enviou o que faltava e ele agora está corrigido.