Heitor Villa Lobos – Forest of the Amazon (1959) with with the Symphony of The Air and Bidu Sayao – Soprano

25 10 2011

Moving forward with the Musicians Day celebration I would like to make a small interruption on Loronix style to present a LP of an artist that cannot be left behind on any Brazilian Music celebration. Take a time to hear this LP, a truly amazing tribute to the Amazon Rainforest; this is Heitor Villa Lobos – Forest of the Amazon (1959) with the Symphony of The Air (NBC Symphony Orchestra) and Bidu Sayao – Soprano.

This is a long time David Federman recommendation that I was saving for an appropriate day, today. I could hit my keyboard for hours writing about Villa Lobos and Bidu Sayao, but it is better to keep it short. Forest of the Amazon was one of Heitor Villa Lobos last works, he was very ill on his last years, but he could orchestrate the entire piece and even coach Bidu Sayao for a best performance. Anyway, do not forget to tell us what are your feelings about the first Classical Loronix release. Tracks include:

01 – Overture
02 – Deep In the Forest
03 – Excitement Among the Indians
04 – First Bird Song
05 – Nature’s Dance
06 – Second Bird Song
07 – (Vocalise)
08 – Sails
09 – On the Way To the Hunt
10 – Third Bird Song
11 – Twilight Song
12 – The Indians In Search of the Girl
13 – Fourth Bird Song
14 – Rima’s Music
15 – Head Hunters
16 – Love Song
17 – Sentimental Melody
18 – Forest Fire
29 – (Finale)


Não tinha este disco, porém graças ao amigo Andreas, ele hoje está disponível no Um que Tenha.  Parece que existem pelo menos mais duas capas para este disco, que seguem abaixo: