Waleska – Na Fossa (1971)

19 07 2012

Link original: Waleska – Na Fossa (1971)
Publicado em: Friday, August 31, 2007 by zecalouro

I have two copies of this album, vinyl, second issue by SOM, a Copacabana subsidiary. Every time I check an old vinyl shop in Rio, this album is there, not one copy, two or three. I think this is the reason for being neglected by me. I should confess that I never took it for a hearing and I lost a lot of time. This album is really good and it is now time to show it to Loronixers. Let’s see what happens.

This is Waleska – Na Fossa (1951), for Copacabana (1971), featuring a singer never shown to Loronixers with accompaniment of Ribamar (piano) and the legendary Moacyr Silva (sax tenor), also in charge of production. Waleska was the owner of the nightclub Fossa and probably, one of the most frequent performes and probably the most important singer of the Fossa style. Ribamar and Moacyr Silva deliver a nice support to Waleska, especially Moacyr Silva with nice sax tenor improvisations. I never had the chance to hear Moacyr Silva performing live. Na Fossa is a really worth checking album, I recommend. Tracks include:

01 – Minha Noite de Fossa (Elizabeth)
02 – Fim de Caso (Dolores Duran) Molambo (Jaime Florence “Meira” / Augusto Mesquita)
03 – Chuvas de Verão (Fernando Lobo)
04 – Noite de Paz (Dolores Duran) Solidão (Dolores Duran)
05 – Pequenos Erros Meus (Rildo Hora / Gracindo Jr.)
06 – Ternura Antiga (Ribamar (1) / Dolores Duran)
07 – A Fossa (Elizabeth / Fernando César)
08 – Por Você (Nonato Buzar / Sergio Bittencourt)
09 – Pra Você (Silvio César)
10 – Saia do Caminho (Custódio Mesquita / Evaldo Ruy)
11 – Tu Vais Voltar (Ribamar (1) / Romeo Nunes)
12 – De Cigarro Em Cigarro (Luis Bonfá) Ninguém Me Ama (Fernando Lobo / Antônio Maria)


Esse disco pode ser buscado no Parallel Realities.

Moacyr Marques e Seu Conjunto – Jazz & Bossa Nova

14 03 2012

Link original: Moacyr Marques e Seu Conjunto – Jazz & Bossa Nova
Publicado em: Friday, April 27, 2007 by zecalouro

I think this post is special; it is the start of a series of two records of a great importance to Brazilian instrumental music. I did not research to understand why they are important; I’m dropping my own opinion this time and part of Caetano’s opinion, since we have been talking about both albums for a couple of days. The first is from an artist that is still active and even keep and maintain a website with very complete information on his career, recordings, participation and projects. I’ve been there for a while before writing these lines and I invite you to visit Moacyr Marques website, also known as Bijou at

This is Moacyr Marques e Seu Conjunto – Jazz & Bossa Nova (uncertain), for Tiger. This is the first Moacyr Marques album and also an instrumental music masterpiece. The title is really honest and appropriate, Jazz & Bossa Nova. What amazes me most is recording date, I think it was recorded between the 1959 and 1960. Jazz & Bossa nova also features Zequinha (piano), Arthur Barbosa (bass) and the legendary Wilson das Neves (drums).

This is a really hard to find album and Caetano is a lucky guy to have it, but the vinyl was not on a good shape, really scratch. I’m making available this time an alternative at Flac format with no tracks separation, no noise reduction and also no Rapidshare. If someone skilled on noise reduction can make it better than I did, I will appreciate a lot. You can download and try this looseless alternative, here (185Mb). Tracks include:


Moacyr Marques “Bijou”
(clarone, sax tenor)
Artur Barbosa
Wilson das Neves

Track List

01 – Taking a Chance On Love (V. Duke / J. Latouche / T. Fetter)
02 – Silk Stop (João Donato)
03 – My Fanny Valentine (R. Rodgers / L. Hart)
04 – Anniversary Theme (José Marinho)
05 – Lullaby Of Birdland (G. Shearing)
06 – Calipso In Brazil (Moacir Marques “Bijú”)
07 – Teleco Teco Nº 2 (Nelsinho / Oldemar Magalhães)
08 – A Saudade Não Foi Leal (Norival Reis / Jorge Duarte)
09 – Samba Feliz (Roberto Martins / Osvaldo Santiago)
10 – Real Conclusao (Artur Barbosa)
11 – Gin-kana (Emílio Batista / Ruy Rey)
12 – Idéias Erradas (Dolores Duran / Ribamar)


Este disco pode ser buscado no 300 Discos.

Moacyr Marques – Novo Sabor

19 02 2012

Link original: Moacyr Marques – Novo Sabor
Publicado em: Wednesday, March 28, 2007 by zecalouro

Hello, good evening! I use to start the day with a story or something that happened with zecalouro or me during the day. Today I will start different, straightforward; I want to show as fast as I can a wonderful contribution of the always-surprising Marcelo Munhoz from Sambasonics.

Marcelo got this album from a friend a couple of years ago, it is a widely unknown LP, Caetano never saw it. Actually, he didn’t know the existence. I’ve been searching on discographies for this piece and I could not find a single line about it. Let’s see.

This is Moacyr Marques – Novo Sabor (no date), for Musidisc. Moacyr Marques, also known as Biju, is an arranger and sax player, active until today. Among several professional accomplishments, Moacyr Marques has participated on several records of renowned Brazilian and international artists, such as: Chico Buarque, Elizeth Cardoso, Gulherme Arantes, Charles Aznavour, Andy William, Sarah Voughan, Billy Eckstine, Michel Legrand, among others. As Maestro, Moacyr Marques was in charge of Elizeth Cardoso support group during her last 10 years of life. Thanks Marcelo, Caetano and Loronixers will be thrilled with your contribution. Tracks include:

01 – Stop Us
02 – Whipped Cream
03 – A Volta
04 – Help
05 – A Hard Day’s Night
06 – The Night Before
07 – Novo Sabor
08 – Ticket to Ride
09 – All my Love
10 – Tema do Nenem
11 – A Taste of Honey
12 – E que tudo mais va pro Inferno


Este disco pode ser buscado no Parallel Realities.

Moacyr Marques e Seu Conjunto de Boite – Samba 40 Graus (1961)

19 12 2011

Link original: Moacyr Marques e Seu Conjunto de Boite – Samba 40 Graus (1961)
Publicado em: Saturday, January 20, 2007 by zecalouro

Today was easy to make the last pick, no much thinking or suffering to decide. It was wise of zecalouro when he established in the beginning of the day that the last post should be from Caetano’s collection. The wonderful cover with the blonde girl holding a sax was also of importance. The bossanovadreamer should enjoy it and the many sax players at Loronix as well.

This is Moacyr Marques e Seu Conjunto de Boite – Samba 40 Graus (1961), for Pawal. This is the kind of record that should fit several interests, there are instrumental performances and some songs with lyrics sung by Moacir Marques itself, which is also known as “Biju”. Moacyr Marques is sometimes taken by mistake as Moacyr Silva, the names are very similar and their instrument of choice is the same. Moacyr Marques released 6 LPs with O Conjunto de Boate in the early 60’s, taking also part on several records from renowned Brazilian artists. Tracks include:

01 – Castiguei (Jorge Costa / Venâncio)
02 – Lamento da Lavadeira (Monsueto / Nilo Chagas / João Violão)
03 – Vivendo e Aprendendo (Ed Lincoln / Silvio César)
04 – Nossos Momentos (Haroldo Barbosa / Luis Reis)
05 – Seu Amor (Silvio Viana)
06 – A Canção Que Virou Você (Luis Antônio)
07 – In The Mood (A. Razef / J. Garlant)
08 – Eu Não (Waldir Calmon / Ely Campos)
09 – Não Sabemos (Rubens Caruso)
10 – Doralice (Antônio Almeida / Dorival Caymmi)
11 – Água de Beber (Tom Jobim / Vinicius de Moraes)
12 – Na Base do Bem Bom (Moacir Marques “Bijú”)


Este disco pode ser buscado na Rádio Forma e Elenco do Martoni.