Stan Getz – The Best of Two Worlds, featuring Joao Gilberto (1976)

21 07 2013

Link original: Stan Getz – The Best of Two Worlds, featuring Joao Gilberto (1976)
Publicado em: Tuesday, January 27, 2009 by zecalouro

João Gilberto, Stan Getz & Miúcha - The Best of Two Worlds

Hello, good evening! I’m trying to make this post since Saturday night. And I’m really sorry about this; I had to skip a really important celebration yesterday, which was Antonio Carlos Jobim, 82 years birthday. Additionally, I missed some announcements of friends that were celebrating Antonio Carlos Jobim yesterday, such as the great work made by Jassvan in New York, running a Marathon with Jobim’s music and special guests on WKCR-89.9FM, also at I’m really sad to miss this announcement and also missing the broadcast tribute itself. Jassvan always speaks about Loronix on his radio show and I urge Loronix’s community to reach the radio website and listen to Jassvan show, broadcasted every Sunday at midnight.

The show must go on, and I would like to upgrade this really nice and inexplicable underrated album, a Bossa Nova classic recorded in 1976 by Stan Getz, featuring João Gilberto and with the participation of Miucha. Let’s see.

This is Stan Getz – The Best of Two Worlds, featuring Joao Gilberto (1976), for Columbia. There is something very unique about this album, which is the participation of Antonio Carlos Jobim. He wrote English lyrics to his compositions especially for this occasion. This cover is also a must and probably assembled by Columbia, since Joao Gilberto appears with the same photo with different situation in the front and back cover. This upgrade includes a new vinyl transfer with FLAC files, new cover scans and also personnel listing, with some nice surprises. Tracks include:


Joao Gilberto
(voice, violao, percussion)
Stan Getz
(tenor sax)

Airto Moreira
Billy Hart, Grady Tate, Ray Armando, Rubens Bassini
Clint Houston, Steve Swallow
Albert Dailey
Oscar Castro Neves
(violao, arrangements)

Track List

01 – Double Rainbow (Tom Jobim / G. Lees)
02 – Águas de Março (Tom Jobim)
03 – Ligia (Tom Jobim)
04 – Falsa Baiana (Geraldo Pereira)
05 – Retrato Em Branco e Preto (Picture In Black And White) (Tom Jobim / Chico Buarque)
06 – Izaura (You Know I Just Shouldn’t Stay) (Herivelto Martins / Roberto Roberti / Vrs. Monica Christina)
07 – Eu Vim da Bahia (Gilberto Gil)
08 – João Marcello (João Gilberto)
09 – É Preciso Perdoar (Carlos Coquejo / Alcyvando Luz)
10 – Just One Of Those Things (Cole Porter)


Este disco pode ser buscado no Um que Tenha.

Miucha – Miucha (1989)

3 09 2012

Link original: Miucha – Miucha (1989)
Publicado em: Monday, October 08, 2007 by zecalouro

I would like to understand why albums like this one are released, gone out of print and being kept unknown for many people, even those who collect Brazilian music. This is another great contribution by AdHoc, a gorgeous LP recorded by Miucha for Continental in 1989 that never had a CD reissue. I admit that I never heard about this one, and probably you did not also. AdHoc transition from classical to popular was great.

This is Miucha – Miucha (1989), for Continental, featuring the very special guests Pablo Milanes at track 01 – Buenos Dias America and Miucha’s daughter Bebel Gilberto at my favorite so far, track 06 – Saudosismo (Caetano Veloso). AdHoc highlights the overall music quality, the repertoire selection, arrangements and Miucha singing, which is really awesome. There are also four very early compositions by the Brazilian guitarist Guinga in partnership with Paulo Cesar Pinheiro. AdHoc delivers nice covers scans, including personnel listing with musicians identified by track, which I will list here as a whole. Thanks Adhoc, you really Rocks! Tracks include:


Jorge Aragon
Cristovao Bastos
(piano, arrangements)
Helvius Vilela
(piano, arrangements)
Paulinho da Aba
Albert Dailey
Eduardo Ramos, Jorjao, Jamil Joanes
Jacques Morelembaum
Chiquinho do Acordeon
Wilson das Neves, Robertinho Silva
Frank Bejerano
Luiz Claudio Ramos
(violao, guitar, arrangements)
Joao Donato
(piano, trombone)
Ze Carlos, Leo Gandelman, Ion Muniz
Paulinho Trumpete, Bidinho, Niltinho
Serginho Trombone, Roberto Marques, Maciel, Jesse Nascimento
Antonio Claudio
Georgiana de Moraes

Track List

01 – Buenos Dias América (Pablo Milanés) with Pablo Milanés
02 – Iaiá (Cristóvão Bastos / Paulo César Pinheiro)
03 – Para Viver (Para Vivir) (Pablo Milanés / Vrs. Miúcha)
04 – Chorando as Mágoas (Guinga / Paulo César Pinheiro)
05 – Anjo Exterminado (Jards Macalé / Waly Salomão)
06 – Saudosismo (Caetano Veloso) with Bebel Gilberto
07 – Solitude (De Lange / I. Mills / Duke Ellington)
08 – Por Gratidão (Guinga / Paulo César Pinheiro)
09 – Non Sense (Guinga / Paulo César Pinheiro)
10 – Porto de Araújo (Guinga / Paulo César Pinheiro)
11 – Valsa dos Músicos (Uma Só Família) (Vinicius de Moraes / Mutinho)


Não tinha esse disco. Porém, graças ao amigo Martoni, ele pode ser buscado na Rádio Forma e Elenco.

Antonio Carlos Jobim, Vinicius de Moraes, Toquinho e Miucha – Musicalmente (1979)

15 04 2012

Link original: Antonio Carlos Jobim, Vinicius de Moraes, Toquinho e Miucha – Musicalmente (1979)
Publicado em: Tuesday, June 05, 2007 by zecalouro

When DVD players started getting popular in Brazil, some companies start making very cheap DVD with old movies, cartoons, documentaries, etc. Among that offer of low cost DVDs sold in newspaper stands, a company released a surprisingly good and never seen before concert recorded in Italy (1979), featuring Antonio Carlos Jobim, Vinicius de Moraes, Toquinho and Miucha. I remember it was paradise on earth, nice quality, full color and an excellent sound of a concert recorded on a very small theater with the atmosphere of a small celebration between these for great artists. This is the extracted audio, featuring 17 songs and 52 minutes of a truly amazing concert.

This is Antonio Carlos Jobim, Vinicius de Moraes, Toquinho e Miucha – Musicalmente (1979). As far I could search Musicalmente is the name of a TV Show in Italy where probably the concert was performed and record. This is an out of print and I’m glad to keep my copy bought by the time it was made available in Brazil. I’m making available two videos, Antonio Carlos Jobim and Toquinho – Wave and everybody together on Berimbau and Canto de Ossanha. Tracks include:

PersonnelAntonio Carlos Jobim
(piano, vocals)
Vinicius de Moraes
Roberto Sion
Georgiana de Moraes

Track List

01 – Samba de Orly
02 – Caymmi
03 – Tarde em Itapoa
04 – Desafinado
05 – Wave
06 – Samba de uma Nota So
07 – Aguas de Marco
08 – Samba do Aviao
09 – O Que Sera
10 – Poeta, Meu Poeta
11 – A Gente Vai Levando
12 – Felicidade
13 – Agua de Beber
14 – Garota de Ipanema
15 – Sei La
16 – Berimbau
17 – Canto de Ossanha


O áudio deste DVD pode ser buscado no Um que Tenha. Seguem os vídeos:

1) Tom Jobim e Toquinho, Wave:


2) Todos juntos – Potpourri de Baden Powell: