Quarteto de Alberto Mota – Quarteto de Alberto Mota (1963)

12 07 2012

Link original: Quarteto de Alberto Mota – Quarteto de Alberto Mota (1963)
Publicado em: Thursday, August 23, 2007 by zecalouro

Here we go on another Caetano Rodrigues selection from his last set of contributions. This time, Caetano was in charge of making the pick of the day among his albums and I think he could not make better than bringing back this legendary musician from the Amazon region, city of Belem do Para, which is Alberto Mota and his quartet.

This is Quarteto de Alberto Mota – Quarteto de Alberto Mota (1963), for Polydor. I would like to dedicate this album to a special friend, Joaquim Paes Henriques and his grandson Betho Henriques. Joaquim Paes Henrique is the drummer of this session, he recently found the albums he recorded with Alberto Mota at Loronix and is pleased by the opportunity to her his music again after a long time. Joaquim Paes Henriques has 72 years. It is always amazing when Loronix can bring back such good memories for Brazilian musicians. Tracks include:


Alberto Mota
(piano, solovox)
Armando de Souza
Joaquim Paes Henriques
Raymundo Cruz

Track List

01 – Samba de Uma Nota Só (Tom Jobim / Newton Mendonça)
02 – Discussão (Tom Jobim / Newton Mendonça)
03 – Tudo Certinho (Alberto Mota / Armandinho)
04 – Folhas Mortas (Les Feuilles Mortes) (Kosma / J. Prevert)
05 – Nossos Momentos (Haroldo Barbosa / Luis Reis)
06 – Canção de Amor (Alberto Mota / Armandinho)
07 – Menina Feia (Oscar Castro Neves / Luvercy Fiorini)
08 – Corcovado (Tom Jobim)
09 – Sonho e Saudade (Tito Madi)
10 – Laura (Mercer / Raksin)
11 – Se Meu Apartamento Falasse (The Apartment) (C. Williams)
12 – Suave É a Noite (Tender Is The Night) (Fain / Paul Francis Webster)


Esse disco pode ser buscado no Parallel Realities.

Alberto Mota e Seu Conjunto – E pra Dancar… Ou Mais!… (1963)

27 03 2012

Link original: Alberto Mota e Seu Conjunto – E pra Dancar… Ou Mais!… (1963)
Publicado em: Monday, May 14, 2007 by zecalouro

Yesterday, Carlos Mendes asked for an album from Orlando Pereira, which is an artist from the Brazilian North region Para state, close to Amazon and the rainforest full of birds that I want to visit one day. I spoke with Caetano about Orlando Pereira and he recommended a different artist from the same Para state that made a great success at Loronix months ago, Alberto Mota e Seu Conjunto, back to Loronix with E pra Dancar… Ou Mais!

This is Alberto Mota e Seu Conjunto – E pra Dancar… Ou Mais!… (1963), for Polydor. This is as nice as the previous release, Voa Meu Samba with Alberto Mota e Seu Conjunto in front of an airplane, but there is one thing that really disturbs me, this building location, it looks like very much with a church build in Belo Horizonte city, Minas Gerais, a project by Oscar Niemeyer, the renowned Brazilian architect that is making 100 years this year active as he was when 50 years old. If a friend has the right information about this building, please let us know. Tracks include:

PersonnelAlberto Mota
(piano, solovox, vibes)
Waldemar Teixeira
Manoel Rayol
(sax alto)
Joaquim Henriques
Raimundo Cruz
Verbeno Costa
Marco Antonio and Mario Guerreiro
Arnaldo Henriques and Maria de Nazare

Track List

01 – Samba Triste (Baden Powell / Billy Blanco)
02 – I Could Have Danced All Night (A. G. Lerner / F. Lowe)
03 – Samba Toff (Orlandivo / Roberto Jorge)
04 – Sentimental Journey (L. Brown / B. Homer / B. Green)
05 – Dona Baratinha (Newton Ramalho / Almeida Rego)
06 – Vem Pro Samba (Orlandivo)
07 – Ou Mais (M. Guerreiro / J. Henriques)
08 – Aquellos Ojos Verdes (N. Menendez)
09 – Choro Sim (Djalma Ferreira / Iza Ferreira) Já Me Convenci (Djalma Ferreira / Iza Ferreira)
10 – Per Omina Saecula Saeculorum Amen (Miguel Gustavo)
11 – Gafieira (Djalma Ferreira / Iza Ferreira)


Não tinha esse disco. Porém, graças ao amigo Martoni, ele pode ser buscado na Rádio Forma e Elenco e no Parallel Realities.

Alberto Mota e Seu Conjunto – Voa Meu Samba (1961)

18 11 2011

Link original: Alberto Mota e Seu Conjunto – Voa Meu Samba (1961)
Publicado em: Thursday, December 21, 2006 by zecalouro

I was silly to go down to make the rain coverage to Loronixers, so stupid that I forgot to pick up the camera to take some pictures. The rain was huge. The cars parked on buildings with garage on the basement, bellow sea level were such like submarines, with only the roof out of the water level.

Excited, I moved away to my place to check everything, when another shower starts, strong as the last one. I ran like a rabbit stopping in the middle with a great doubt, do we get more water running at the rain or walking? Who knows this answer? Just in case if happens again, I think the one who runs get more water in the face.

Anyway, this is Alberto Mota e Seu Conjunto – Voa Meu Samba (1961), for Polydor. Once again, a cover with an airplane, it seems that Brazilian music had a good partnership with the airlines in the past. Some old LPs does not have planes at the front cover such like this one, but sometimes the airline business appears very frequently at the back cover.

This is the debut LP of the Brazilian pianist Alberto Mota that release another three LPs, the last one in 1966. I could not search if Alberto Mota took another direction on his career before this last LP. Personnel is Alberto Mota (piano, solovox and vibes), Waldemar Teixeira (piston), Manoel Rayol (sax alto), Manoel Jesus Martins (sax tenor), Joaquim Henriques (drums), Raimundo Cruz (bass), Armando Barbosa de Souza (guitar), Marco Antônio e Mário Guerreiro (percussion) and Arnaldo Henriques e Maria Nazaré (vocal). Tracks include:

01 – Tamborim (Humberto Teixeira / Carlos Barroso)
02 – Fio de Canção (Luis Antônio)
03 – O Que É Que Ele Quer (Alberto Mota / J. Herinques)
04 – Império do Samba (Zé da Zilda / Zilda do Zé)
05 – Ilusão (Alberto Mota / J. Henriques)
06 – Ôba (Oswaldo Nunes)
07 – Tamanco no Samba (Orlann Divo / Hélton Menezes)
08 – Jogado Fora (João Mello)
09 – Na Base do Pinguim (Fernando César / João Leal Brito “britinho”)
10 – Agradeço a Você (Djalma Ferreira / Luis Bandeira)
11 – Na Cadência do Samba (Ataulfo Alves / Paulo Gesta)
12 – Ninguém Chora Por Mim (Evaldo Gouveia / Jair Amorim)


Este disco pode se buscado no Parallel Realities.